What Vegans Eat (Pulled Pork Edition)

in #food8 years ago

I am by no means a vegan (I'm a pescetarian, mainly vegetarian), but I love experimenting in cooking. Vegans know how to have fun with cooking because you have to be very VERY creative. The goal is to use NO animal product but to not sacrifice flavour, which could easily happen. Also, texture is SO important.

THIS IS VEGAN, GUYS - and I did it all by myself! It was so easy!

So when I saw this recipe: http://www.lordbyronskitchen.com/vegetarian-pulled-pork/ - I HAD to make it. I dragged Jeremy (BF) to China Town in Toronto get the main ingredient - CANNED JACKFRUIT - and got to work. It turned out BEAUTIFULLY.

Check it out:


Seriously how odd and alien-like is this fruit!

DO RECOMMEND.

Here's the final product again, for good measure:

(PS I'm also digging this cute little 'reserved' sign we picked up in China Town)

And me smiling about it:

Cooking is therapy! And no pigs were harmed! Cheers!

Sort:  

This is lovely! Cheers!

That looks delicious! Never heard of jack fruit.

It's so good! And fascinating.

Then Anna and I must try it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58440.50
ETH 2618.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39