Sweet tooth cooking: Pavlova

in #food6 years ago

As promised, here is my recipe for Pavlova. If you don't know what a Pavlova is, it is an Australian desert that was inspired by the tour of the Russian ballerina, Anna Pavlova sometime around 100 years ago. New Zealand tries to make the claim that the dessert is their own invention however, they can't be trusted because well, they are New Zealanders.

cake1.jpg

The dessert is a soft meringue made out of whipped egg whites and sugar and it is super easy to prepare and is pretty idiot proof which is why it is the only cake I know how to make (and also why New Zealanders feel comfortable claiming it as theirs).

pavlova_ST (1 of 1).jpg

Ingredients:

for the base

  • 6 egg whites
  • A cup of sugar
  • A little vanilla extract
  • A teaspoon of white vinegar
  • 1/2 a tablespoon of corn flour

*preheat the oven to 130 C which is about 946 F (google it)

for the topping

  • Whipped cream
  • Fruit (strawberries, blueberries, banana, kiwi etc)

pavlova_ST (1 of 1)-2.jpg

Firstly, make sure that your mixing bowl is clean and has no oil residue in it as if it does, the whites won't whip firm. Make sure.. You have been warned. Then separate the egg white from the yolk. If you don't know how to do this, Google it. However, make sure that you get no yolk into the mix because they are fatty and that means, no firm peaks. A ballerina dessert without firm peaks is well, a little flat. Wondering what happens with the egg yolks? Ask Google.

pavlova_ST (1 of 1)-5.jpg

pavlova_ST (1 of 1)-4.jpg

Then, start whipping those whites like it is bizarro 1750 in the deep south until they form soft peaks, and then start adding the cup of sugar a little at a time. As you can see, I am using the staple Finnish 'Marrimekko, Unikko' cup but a measuring cup will do just fine. This is a good time to mention, I just make stuff up when I cook so amounts are approximates. Keep whipping. Whip it, whip it good.

pavlova_ST (1 of 1)-6.jpg

pavlova_ST (1 of 1)-7.jpg

pavlova_ST (1 of 1)-8.jpg

The eggs are whipped enough when they form very firm peaks and when you take a small amount and rub it between your fingers, you shouldn't feel sugar. After that, add the vinegar and the corn flour and lightly mix them in.

pavlova_ST (1 of 1)-9.jpg

pavlova_ST (1 of 1)-11.jpg

So now, on a lined baking tray, plonk the whipped egg whites in the middle and shape it into a cake-y type of shape. It will spread a little in the oven so don't spread it out too much, go high. And then it is off to the oven where it will sit for between 60 and 90 minutes depending on size and stuff however when ready-ish, it will go a nice soft cream color. My wife likes it hard - and she also likes the crust of the Pavlova hard so I cook it a little longer.

cake4.jpg

pavlova_ST (1 of 1)-10.jpg

Watch your daughter stare at it in the oven and excitedly say, Smallsteps' cake! Then, explain to your daughter that it has egg, cream, strawberries and vanilla and you are allergic so no, it is Daddy's cake! and watch her happy little smile turn to a frown.

cake5.jpg

When it gets to where you want it to be, turn off the oven and wedge the door open with an oven mitt and allow it to cool completely. This will reduce the flattening of it however, I don't care too much what it looks like so, I let it cool about a half hour and then took it out onto the bench. As you can see from the picture, it looks pretty appetizing.

cake2.jpg

cake3.jpg

Then it is time to add the fruits. Often I use strawberries and blueberries but today, just went with strawberries because well, we forgot to buy blueberries. Kiwi and banana work well, some people put peach or pineapple... shivers.... Whip the cream up too and make it pretty firm but don't turn it into butter. Add the** vanilla essence** in the cream and a bit of sugar to taste (I used vanilla sugar because I forgot to buy essence).

cake1.jpg

cake.jpg

So then (making sure the base is completely cool) slap the cream on top and then put whatever fruit you want on top** until the ugly is covered** and, it is ready.

The best thing about this dessert is that it is light considering the amount of sugar and cream so you can really pack a lot of it in. with 6 eggs, my wife and I ate about half of it already but we are pigs. so you could get 8 slices out of it. The largest I have made had 12 eggs and served about 15 people. It is really easy and a great Summer dessert and can be made a day or two before hand and stored in an airtight container somewhere cool and away from animals and New Zealanders.

Give it a go and let me know if you enjoyed it :)

This is one of the most work intensive posts I have ever done... lol.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

A recipe from taraz? That's new (at least to me). :D

i think it is my first... perhaps last too since I don't know how to cook much :D

Come on, you could make a trial recipe and post about it. :D That would be fun!

Wow really cool, it seems simple, very sweet and very tasty ... definitely try it pavlova, I just need the strawberry of these ingredients.

That must be the same stuff my wife bought from the K-Citymarket yesterday. I'd never seen it before.

Meringue? Normal meringue is hard but this is like marshmallow inside.

They look like sighs but I imagine that the maizena has a different flavor, and when you read this comment that it tastes like marshmallows, you convinced me to prepare them.

Oh yeah, the stuff she bought must have been meringue because it was hard. There was nothing soft in what she bought. I'm going to ask her if she's heard of Pavlova.

You have to try it. Meringue is not as good as this.

You have a beef with New Zealanders? lol.
It looks really appetizing, and quite easy to make. Just that, I am not sure I am gonna always remember to "make sure" the mixing bowl is oil free before putting in the egg whites....

You have a beef with New Zealanders? lol.

Who doesn't?? :P

Well I have obviously never taste an Australian desert, but any cake with strawberries will always have my kudos

Those pics were great by the way, the final result looks delicious.

is pretty idiot proof which is why it is the only cake I know how to make

lol man ^^

:) thanks

I could only edit the first half before the daughter went to bed so the post-baking pics are a little dark.

Have it regularly. Like it when the meringue is gooeey in the centre. You need to make an allergy free cake for smallsteps. That wasn't fair making daddy's cake lol.

lol, we tried to make one for her first birthday and she ate it but, it was disgusting. We will try again this year. She is happy eating frozen lingonberries straight. They are really sour.

What is she allergic too? I may have some ideas as we are a serious cooking family.

I´m hungry now

Looks good but most of all seems easy to make. Does seem like a lot of sugar. But I have been banned from the kitchen years ago

huuummmm how rich it looks, I had never seen it in cake ... Here in Venezuela we make similar ones, they are called sighs or merengones, without the corn flour. And we make them small, placing a spoonful of the mixture or a cup. I never imagined making it like a cake ... thanks for sharing it. :)

and your daughter is beautiful ... God bless you!

The sighs are like this:

This is by far the most entertaining recipe I have ever read! I love the little light musing tossed in for effect and readability. There is never a reason a recipe has to be boring.

*preheat the oven to 130 C which is about 946 F (google it)

That's not how this works! lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58431.12
ETH 3142.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43