Quick Fried Buns! "South Central European Style"

in #food7 years ago

YOU HAVE TO TRY THESE!

SIMPLE AND TASTY!

I make these on average, at least once a week.

111.jpg

1.5 kg flour
2 table spoons of salt
2 big table spoons of dry yeast
100ml oil
750 ml very warm water

112.jpg

The above measurements are approximates, add water as required, you will see, but this usually does it.

Make the dough, then let it rest/rise until it doubles in size.

113.jpg

Once it doubles in size, kneed the dough again, 114.jpg

then roll it out to a 1/2cm = approximately 1/4 inch thickness, and 115.jpg

Cut into small pieces, there is no real rule of thumb for the size of each piece, I recommend that they be about 10 x 15 cm (4 x 6 inch approximately).

Then fry them in oil, high temperature for frying, short frying time till it goes light brown/golden,
116.jpg

then flip and do the same.

117.jpg

Once both sides are light brownish/golden in colour then take them out and let them drain out on a sheet of (towel) paper.

118.jpg

Now you may think to yourself, WHY go to all the trouble?

TRY THEM, THEN COME BACK TO ME WITH THIS QUESTION!

119.jpg

While I made these, my son Chris took care of the BBQ!

110.jpg

I have often made these for a quick snack/lunch or even brunch.
Put them on the table with various dips and let the kids dig in.

I have also made them with a cheese and ham filling, basically just roll them out a little thinner, cut to size, place filling in there, fold them over and then fry.

Excellent meal!

I don't know how to exactly translate these, so I just called them "Quick Fried Buns", the original word in Croatia is "Lepinje" pronounced Lay-pin-yeah.

So I figured that "Quick Fried Buns" would sound tastier than a foreign sounding word!

I guarantee they taste fantastic!

Sort:  

very cool!

we don't fry a lot, but they look easy and yummy! I bet the ones with the fillings are nice, we may just try those the first time! Maybe even teach the oldest kids to make them...... give them something to snack on when the fridge isn't full.

Peace!

I guarantee that you will all enjoy these.

Simple and tasty, can not go wrong.

I will have to try this .....well as soon as i can figure out the conversion ha ha

Quick Fried Buns!

What's there to figure out?

:)

I had no idea how much 1.5kg then realized kilogram duh standard to metric really making me think

Ahaaa... my husband talks in feet and inches but he thinks and measures in metric.

Try living with that!

Hi @sylviamiller ! I am nominating your post to my issue, hope that we grow here in Steemit because especially you deserve it.

Thanks for introducing us your awesome style of making buns

Thanks.

This is a simple recipe for nice hot buns that can serve as an excellent replacement for bread and can with dips become a meal on their own!

Simple, tasty and no complaints!

Haha yeah it's already a meal itself. I'll stay in touch with you @sylviamiller you're doing good!

you're making steemit a great community with your content sylviamiller! keep it up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58004.44
ETH 2579.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40