Duck With Mlinci (Croatian Dish)

in #food7 years ago

In the northern end of Croatia they often make turkey with mlinci. I couldn't find a translation for the mlinci, so I just used their original name in Croatian.

I have used a "home grown" duck, so it said on the packaging that I bought it in, but it didn't quite look like a home grown duck like the ones I cooked back in Croatia, which were home grown in peoples back yards, in the villages around the cities and towns there.

I will go through how I cooked the duck here and then go to the mlinci, which is a very simple and tasty side dish that goes well with turkey, duck, goose and even chicken.

So first the duck.

Ingredients,
1 duck 2kg in weight
2 small teaspoons of salt
2 small teaspoons of Vegeta
pinch or two of pepper
two small teaspoons of paprika
two teaspoons of garlic herbs

p110.jpg

Step 1
First wash the duck well and then let it dry, then rub into the meet all the herbs and spices and leave it in the fridge over night.

p111.jpg

Step 2

The next day, place your duck into a baking tray and cover it with aluminium foil, then place into a preheated oven, at 165 degrees celsius for 3 hours.

Every 30 minutes you have to baste the duck with the juices in the tray.

After 90 minutes of baking, take a pointy knife and stab into the duck where the meat in various positions, then keep cooking and basting as describes above.

p112.jpg

This is how my duck looked once finished, a little over done on the outside, I think this is because it wasn't like the home grown ducks back in Croatia.

It may look a little crunchy here, but it is in fact all nice and juicy and soft. Not hard or burned as this picture may suggest.

p113.jpg

MLINCI

Ingredients,

Half a kg of flour
2 small teaspoons of salt
300 ml of luke warm water

1 table spoon of salt
pot of boiling water

m110.jpg

Step 1
Kneed the dough to make it nice and smooth all over, then make tennis ball sized portions

m111.jpg

Step 2
Roll out the portions 1 by 1 and spread out over a flat baking tray.

m112.jpg

m113.jpg

Step 3
Place into a preheated oven at 230 degrees celsius and bake for 2 to 3 minutes.
Do the same for each portion.

m114.jpg

Step 4
Cook up a pot of water, add one table spoon of salt.

m115.jpg

Step 5
Break up your baked baked biscuit like tray sized pieces into hand sized pieces.
Do not go smaller than pieces that are palm sized.
&
turn off the stove,
then put them into the boiled water and leave for 5 minutes with the lid on.

Then strain them and put the mlinci into the baking tray with the duck and mix with the juices that are in the baking tray.

I also made a soup, using a piece of the duck fat that was on the bird I bought.

m116.jpg

m117.jpg

pm118.jpg

I was surprised, because my children ate it all, no leftovers!

I hope you enjoyed reading this simple and tasty recipe for Mlinci, I am sorry i didn't find a translation for them.

Have a good day, I will be back tomorrow with some more of my recipes and cooking experiences.

Sort:  

Suddenly I'm getting hungry...but there is only chicken here lol...i'll have to ask if wifey apples knows how to make duck...:)))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64572.94
ETH 2630.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82