Miss Delicious #23 : The midnight snack crave!

in #food8 years ago (edited)

Dear Steemit Friends:


Imgur

China is a food heaven not least for it's wide variety of delicious and food delicacies, but in part, for it's convenience. Even though by popular lore, snacking at midnight is considered a some what unhealthy practice, we all have our midnight hungry stomach urges!

In China, girls who like eating spicy midnight snacks have their own nickname - hot girl! I'm not a hot girl, but I frequently get called out by my friends to go for a night time snack. Lets have a look at what we eat..

In China, we have a saying which is "No Spice, no joy". I can understand that many people enjoy spicy foods for their simulating effect, but when eating it so close to bed time, how are we suppose to sleep? I think spicy foods are probably best for night owls.

Below are some hot and numbing cold dishes:

Even bean sprouts can be spicy.

Imgur

Imgur

Cold spicy and numbing Boiled Eggs.

Imgur

Cold spicy and numbing potatoes.

Imgur

Cold spicy and numbing pig blood curd.

Imgur

Cold spicy vegetables.

Imgur

And below, the main feature!
This is actually a Sichuan kebab and hot pot restaurant. Usually, hotpots consist of a variety of meats and vegetables all put into the pot to boil, but this restaurant allows you to choose from this very large selection of kebab meats and vegetables. Simply choose whichever combinations you want, and put them into your basket. Once you've filled your basket with what you desire, just give it to the chef and he'll cook it for you!

Imgur

This is a hot and numbing hotpot, if you look at the deep red soup base, you can get an idea of how spicy it is.

Imgur

And this is the classic soup base. My preference is to cook the vegetables in the classic soup. People from Sichuan will still opt to cook their vegetables in the hot and numbing hotpot, but I like to have my vegetables taste lighter and less spicy.

Imgur

Below are some tips on how to eat the Hot Peppers:

Iced pickle plum soup / drink can help to relieve spice. For people like me who are novice spice eaters, the drink is absolutely essential.

Imgur

This is iced grass jelly. When I eat spicy foods, this is also a dish I always order. It's main purpose is to reduce the accumulation of internal heat. The main ingredient of this grass jelly is the genus mesona medicinal herb. It's usually served with shaved peanuts, honey and raisins. The taste is sweet and very refreshing, particularly after eating some really spicy foods. It kind of reminds me of the Guangdong Turtle Jelly herb, ideal for consumption in the hot summer months to help with coping with the heat.

Imgur

I hope after seeing all these tasty spicy foods you've summoned the courage to go try it out! Are you guys spice lovers?


在中国,人们在10点之后,已经快到午夜的时间,喜欢去哪里吃夜宵。人们常把喜欢吃辣的女生叫辣妹子,不过我不是一个辣妹子,但是半夜的时候,我被朋友拉去吃夜宵,一起来看看我们吃的是什么吧?其实这是一家吃四川的串串香火锅的餐厅。它是一种特别的火锅, 一般是把肉和菜放进锅里煮,而串串香可以让你挑选你喜欢吃的肉和菜,数量也由你自己定。这个超级大的冰柜里有各种肉和菜,你可以任意选择然后放进自己的篮子里,交给厨师。
下面给你们分享下我吃辣椒的小Tips:冰镇酸梅汤可以解辣,象我这样不太能吃辣的,酸梅汤就是救命稻草了。这个是凉粉,我吃辣的时候必点这个甜品,因为吃辣椒很容易上火,而凉粉是降火气的,天然仙草是它的主要材料,加上花生沫,蜜汁和葡萄干,吃起来甜甜的很清凉,就像广东去火的龟苓膏一样,消热消暑,也是夏天甜品的最佳选择。看完我的贴你们有没有流口水呢,希望你们喜欢麻辣的诱惑,你们平时喜欢吃辣吗?

Sort:  

赞, 抢个沙发坐坐 :)

哈哈 谢谢呀:)

The one difference though, is if you live in the Jiangnan / southern Jiangsu region of places like Wuxi, Zhenjiang, and Changzhou where the food is not spicy at all, and everybody has a very sweet tooth. My students from Sichuan and Hunan complain very loudly about how the food is not spicy enough for them and how they can't wait to go home and "eat real Chinese food." =D

Your post also reminded me that I haven't eaten anything today and am rather hungry! =)

That's a good point! There are swaths of places in China where spicy foods aren't popular at all. Although, even in those places, the midnight snacks will tend to be on the spicier side.

Better start thinking about getting some food dear!

Stop posting this or imwill eat you!

刚刚吃过了,要不又被你们搞流口水了,哈

哈哈 还好我没有半夜的时候发:)

赞,拍照很好 :)

谢谢你噢:)

@sweetsssj, looks very very delicious. But i can't stand spicy foods.

That's okay! There's always the classic soup base for non-spicy lovers!

They look good. Sometimes I can eat spicy food. Most the time I don't. They look like I should try them.

You know, I was the same.. I couldn't stand spicy food before, and then gradually many of my meals became more spicy and I built up a tolerance.

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 09. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $15.60 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 09 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I've been reading a lot of your food posts, and, now, I really want to take a food tour through China! There's so many different foods!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63455.85
ETH 2722.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58