Miss Delicious #39 : Infusing Portuguese food with Asian in Macau!

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Dear Steemit friends:


Today, i'd like to take everybody to a special restaurant I visited in Macau. The St. Louis Portuguese Restaurant. This restaurant has been open for nearly 20 years and it has managed to retain it's essence as a Portuguese style restaurant to this day. As we know, Macau has quite a long history sharing the culture of Portugal and China, the food definitely reflects this history quite nicely as it has become a unique fusion of the two cultures.
Imgur
Macau was originally a trading port for the Portuguese as well as other Europeans. In the 16th century, it was leased to Portugal as an official trading port and then later became the last remaining European colony in Asia. Because of the long influence of the Portuguese, there are many people in Macau of Portuguese descent who were born and bred there. The food has also taken influence from neighbouring styles such as Cantonese, Indian, South East Asian and even French and then infused with the original essence of Portuguese food. It surely results in a unique blend of tastes that we can now call Macanese food. Let's go in and see what's in store!

As I enter the restaurant, I immediately notice the European style of decoration and in particular the draping flags of the colour green and red which are the colours of Portuguese flag.
Imgur
The pink brick walls are a common architectural style of buildings in Macau.
Imgur
The restaurant lighting is on the darker side setting a very romantic tone to the evening.
Imgur
In one corner of the restaurant, we have some interesting decorations and ornaments. I like the classic gramophone because it feels like i'm being taken back in time to pre-digital era. There are also Chinese porcelain art plates hung on the wall representing the Chinese influence. We can say that Macau is very much represented by this tiny corner, a fusion of Western and Eastern cultures.
Imgur
Imgur
A beautiful abstract oil painting. I can't quite make out what it is, but I think it is a lady wearing a red dress, what do you think it is?
Imgur
This is the wine and liquor cabinet.
Imgur
Beautiful red roses.
Imgur
They have large variety of European Wines.
Imgur
Even the wash room has some cute utensils.
Imgur
Let's eat!
Imgur
Roasted Crispy Skin Pork Trotter. This is a really nice appetiser, usually Pig Trotter can be quite fatty but this was Crispy and not too overwhelming.
Imgur
With some Gravy sauce, it tastes even better.
Imgur
These are French Style baked snails. It tastes very succulent and the mash potato underneath serves as a bed to absorb the juices from the snails so it also tastes very delicious!
Imgur
Cantonese Style green vegetables. The colour and luster make it very inviting.
Imgur
Almond Prawns. The Almonds have a very distinct taste on their own, but when combined with the Prawns, they add a very curious extra fragrance. The sauce is a sweet and sour sauce that is mildly spicy. I've never tasted anything like it before, the only thing I can recognise is the texture of the Prawn meat which is very soft.
Imgur
Pan fried silver cod. This is this restaurants signature dish, underneath the fish is a slice of potato. The fillet edges are crispy and crunchy because it is fried but despite this, the texture of the meat is smooth and tastes divine!
Imgur
Vegetable Soup, it looks thick, but it's actually very light.
Imgur
Prawn Curry with Radish. This curry is exquisite, the enticing prawns are made differently from the Southeast Asian styles because the shells have been pealed. This leaves the prawns absorbing much of the curry flavour which itself has a zesty taste.
Imgur
Portuguese style fruit pancake. This dish is borrowing the pancake styles of Hong Kong and then adding cream and butter. Together with the fruits, this makes for a terrific and yummy dessert.
Imgur
I hope you enjoyed this trip to a special Macanese restaurant where we not only tasted a wonderful fusion of food, but also experienced a fusion of cultures. See you again soon for more delicious food!

今天我想带大家去探索在西安的一家澳门风味餐厅——圣路易葡国餐厅,听说这家餐厅开了十几年了,他的特色在于,它展现了澳门特色的西餐。说起澳门的特色菜,还有一定的历史渊源在里面。澳门文化属于中华文化的一部分,但因为长期为葡萄牙的殖民地,诞生了澳门独有的土生葡人文化,就连澳门的菜系也吸收了粤菜的烹饪法,也融合了葡萄牙,印度,东南亚甚至法餐的特色,创造出独一无二的澳门菜。下面就带你们来品尝一下澳门美食吧。走进餐厅非常有节日的气氛,房间的顶上装饰着红和绿色的旗子,既是葡萄牙国旗的颜色也是圣诞节的颜色。粉色的砖墙也是澳门常见的建筑特色。餐厅的光线调的比较暗,很有浪漫的情调。餐厅的一角有很多有趣的复古装饰,古老的留声机,墙上青花瓷图案的盘子,澳门的文化不就像这面墙一样,是中西融合的文化。烤脆皮猪手,猪手的选材很好,肉质上肥瘦均匀而且非常新鲜浇上酱汁,味道就更美味。焗法式蜗牛,个头很大,吃起来鲜嫩多汁,下面的土豆泥也很好吃。蔬菜色泽油亮,颜色很绿。杏仁大虾,杏仁的味道很香浓,吃起来很酥脆,酱汁味道是酸甜带一些微辣,虾肉质软软的,很嫩。香煎银鳕鱼,也是这家的招牌菜,鱼的下面铺了一块土豆,煎的边缘脆脆的,吃起来口感润滑,味道好极了。蔬菜汤,清淡的选择。咖喱虾萝卜,咖喱味道很正,新鲜的虾与东南亚的做法不同,因为它是去壳的,肉质水嫩。葡式水果班戟,借鉴了港式班戟的特色,加了奶油和黄油,配上水果的味道好吃极了。希望你们喜欢澳门特色的西餐,之后还有更多有趣的餐厅等着我们发现呢。

Sort:  

I'm going by ferry in 30 minutes. I hope to enjoy the same dining experience you had when you went. Unfortunately Yelp'rs gave it 3.5/5, but I can't rely on those reviews along. It certainly looks like it's worth a shot. Thanks for this yummy post @sweetsssj.

刚吃完晚饭,这会一看又饿了。大虾是我的最爱。

看来以后不好深夜放毒啊 : )

晚上能够静静读你的post 也是美事

Looks great. I really enjoyed the food in Macau, Pork Chop buns and Egg Tarts, yummy. I'll be sure to check this out if I get back there.

I'm so glad you've had a chance to taste the Macanese food for yourself, you can attest to how delicious it is!

yes loved it. The Asian style with Portugese influence works really well together.

I agree, I didn't know what to expect but you're right, it really works well together! Egg Tarts also sound sooo tasty, I'm craving one right now..

Thank you, I can confirm it tastes delectable too!

Thanks for your reply

Thanks for sharing this. I had bookmark this on google maps and tripadvisor so I can look for this if I go Macau. :-)

You're very welcome ace! Few people go to Macau for the food (gambling etc.) but there are hidden gems like this one if you look hard enough!


甜心妹妹的晚餐好丰盛
我晚餐也吃了鱼和青菜,不过不是银鳕鱼,是煎的三文鱼

另外,除了鱼和青菜,就没有其它菜了:(

哈哈 谢谢ofly哥 其实三文鱼也非常好吃 青菜也很健康。。难道没有主食??

误会误会
主食当然有了,就是米饭啦:)

Congratulations on the choice of the restaurant, in a very beautiful place, the images are beautiful and the nu looks very delicious, excellent post thank you very much for sharing @ sweetsssj lady

Thank you jlufer, I really enjoyed the western infused styles of food here, it makes me miss my travels in Europe which hopefully I can go back to very soon!

thank you for sharing , food looks delicious

You're welcome, thank you for checking it out :)

Thank you so much for taking me home. :) After I see these photos I really felt I was in Portugal!

You're very welcome! I'm so glad you could appreciate this as a person from Portugal. I'd love to spend more actual time in Portugal in the future, it is a really beautiful country ! :)

@sweetesssj just let me know when you travel to Portugal so I can give you some tips. :) Please check my recipes. I think you will enjoy some of them! :)

澳门特色的西餐,有时间可以去试一试。谢谢,分享!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61618.64
ETH 3009.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78