Egg substitutes: vegan egg salad

in #food6 years ago

Have you ever had egg salad without egg?

It tastes delicious and also resembles the original. Moreover, you can make it super easy.


theedgyveg.com

Have I ever told you that I am a cheese junkie? So that goes almost daily on bread, on the food, on a toast or out of the fist. Because I might eat less cheese for my health and the planet, I regularly try vegetable spreads.

Favorites are peanut butter, cashew pasta and hummus, but I do not always feel like it. Recently I saved a tub of egg salad from the food waste in the supermarket and I realized that I can also manufacture fine vegetable varieties. Based on tofu. Just get started.

Ingredients

For a vegan egg salad without eggs you need:

Block tofu, drained
Vegan mayonnaise (homemade or for example Remia Mayolijn 100% vegetable)
Unsweetened, vegetable yoghurt (eg soy yoghurt)
Curry powder
Black pepper
salt
Chives, spring onions or parsley

That's how you make it

This recipe is almost impossible to call a recipe, it is that easy. Even easier than regular egg salad though, because you do not have to cook and peel eggs.

naturesemporium.com

Cut the tofu into small cubes. Put a few tablespoons of vegan mayonnaise and / or vegetable yogurt through them. If you only use vegan mayonnaise, the sauce becomes more oily. On the basis of vegetable yoghurt, the sauce is slightly thicker and creamier. I prefer to use as much of both myself and not too much in relation to the tofu.

Season the salad with salt and pepper. Be generous with the curry powder, because it gets the main role. Finally add finely chopped chives or another fresh herb that you have available.

That's how it tastes

The first time I tasted vegan egg salad, I had not made it myself and I did not believe that there was no egg in it. The structure and mild taste of the tofu looks exactly like egg! Now that I have made it myself, I recognize the tofu a bit better, but I think it is quite successful.

Just like with real egg salad, the taste comes mainly from the spices and that is now the case again. I do not really miss the taste of egg, but if you like you can still add kala namak - also known as Indian Black Salt. This salt contains a little bit of sulfur, which makes it look like the taste of eggs.

I found my inspiration @ theedgyveg.com and zaailingen.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57387.61
ETH 2518.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31