Missed Opportunities: Chicken of the WoodssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

My wife and I went camping last weekend on the Spring River near Mammoth Springs, AR. Beside our campsite was a dead tree.

Here is my wife doing a little yoga on top of it.

As I helped her climb down, we noticed a mushroom at the base of the tree. Now, I have always thought it would be cool to forage for mushrooms, but the idea scares me too much to actually try it! I haven't even taken the time to try to learn to identify any of them. I now regret that decision, because here is the mushroom that we spotted.

Top view


Bottom view

I had no idea what kind it was. In fact, the orange coloration had me completely convinced that it must be deadly! I mean, animals with bright colors generally tend to be warning predators to leave them alone because they are venomous/poisonous - a phenomenon known as aposematism. I just figured it would be the same with fungi. Then, I ran across this post (https://steemit.com/mushrooms/@ryczar/chicken-of-the-woods-or-front-yard-laetiporus-sulphureus) earlier today by @ryczar, and I realized my mistake. I am pretty positive this mushroom was Laetiporus sulphureus, more commonly known as Chicken of the Woods. It is supposed to be one of the more delectable of the edible mushrooms. Not only that, but it is very easy to identify! If I had only done a little bit of research at some point, I would have known to take this yummy morsel home and cooking it up.

Oh, well. There's always next time!

Sort:  

That is most definitely Chicken of the Woods! I am @ryczar 's wife Rose! He will be so thrilled his post helped you identify this mushroom. That was his first post so you mentioning it is super cool! Thank you for this! I can't wait for him to come in from the barn!

Oh, well. Lost the opportunity to eat the mushroom, but at least now you know how to identify it! Haha
Nice pictures, by the way.

Wow that's awesome! Rose sat me down in front of the computer as soon as I came back in from the barn and said "You gotta read this!". I tried to say no because I wanted to wash my hands and change out of my farm clothes. I was surprised at what I saw! Great post. Next time you're out in nature and have a question about mushrooms just do a quick Google search. Unless you're off the grid, in that case, you may wish to get a mushroom ID book or field guide. Happy hunting!

I would love to have read more about your adventures in the woods! And did the yoga bring forth peace and tranquility?

Cheers,
Nick

not only do you now know how to ID this one you have a general idea where it can be found next year, with the use of the picture do you know what tree it's growing next to that could help for other locations :) thanks for sharing

@sustainablyyours Are you sure about your wife? It sure looks like she is rehearsing for the female lead part in the modern remake of The Karate Kid.

When I was very young, my mom taught me that if the bugs are all over the mushroom, then it's okay (If one is quick, then there's a bit extra protein.).

Yes chicken of the wood! Nice pic and post! Finally a post on chicken of the wood! Enjoyed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57173.66
ETH 3067.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39