Norwegian Goat Cheese Covered in Ashes - My Newest Addiciton

in #food7 years ago (edited)

This award-winning Norwegian cheese is the bomb! If you love cheese, like I do, this is something you should try, if you ever go to Norway.

Screenshot_7.png

The cheese is called Lille Aske - basically meaning "little ash" in English. It's hand made from goats' milk. It's covered by a thin layer of ashes (!) and it has a lot of flavour.

Screenshot_8.png

It was a bit expensive, I paid the equivalent of 14 USD for this little piece of heaven!
It's soft, a bit sour and has a lot of milk flavor.

Screenshot_9.png

I put it on a slice of bread and I put a grape + apple chutney on top. HOLY macaroni - it's safe to say that the cheese didn't last very long. I just ate the whole thing, approximately 9 billion calories as once. But I don't care!

I am off to Sweden for a week now. Remote working at it's finest! Stockholm is a beautiful city, with lots of awesome food and tons of exciting things to do. Stay tuned for my travel updates folks!

Susanne - the cheese lover

Sort:  

Cheeesalious :-)

Holy Cheesus!!
Det så utrolig spennende ut! Den MÅ jeg prøve?
Hvem produserer den? Har aldri sett den før.

https://www.godost.no/shop/lille-aske Det må du! De selger den på Stavanger Fetevare og Ostehuset tror jeg. Den er SÅ god!!

Takk!
Den skal bestilles! :)

I'm jealous. Here in America we have this shit.

hmmm... you need to find a cheesemonger fast!

yummy

It sure was :)

Hello fellow turophile! Of Norwegian cheeses, I've only tried Jarlsberg. And I am piqued with your cheese pics - now salivating and daydreaming of this "Lille Aske."

Hello!! Jarlsberg is a Great everyday cheese! Lille Aske for president!

Right?! Even the name is mysterious (at least for non-Norwegians), and so inviting. Going to the cheesemonger tomorrow and beg for them to look into ordering/importing if possible.

9 billion calories of joy I bet.

Ha ha! True that!! :)

We europeans! cheese everywhere...

Hahahahah! You say it like it's a bad thing? :p :p Ha ha!

that is when you keep it in the fridge to long, other then that love some cheese once in a while haha

Looks really good! I've never eat a Norwegian Goat Cheese Covered in Ashes, but I love goat cheese ^_^

Well, there is a first for everything. I think you would like this too then. Come to freezing cold Norway and taste it :p

From a cheese lover to another, I need to try this! :)

Yes! They sell it at Stavanger Fetevare! And maybe even Ostehuset.

I got ur other cheese lover over here , just love cheese spreads , all types of cheese and my favourite melted cheese. Never tasted cheese made with goat milk before I'm sure it's absolutely Devine !

Oh!!! Melted cheese!! It was heavenly!! 😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62441.36
ETH 2940.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59