You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hop Shoots - The Other Hop Crop! - 5 ways to Eat Hop Shoots

in #food7 years ago

I love how versatile the shoots are. They look delicious in each way that you showed too. I think I would like them grilled quickly too. Thanks for letting me know about the post, you always have interesting ones. Great job!

Sort:  

Thanks, @sunscape! You identified the green shoots, but those first shoots of early spring do look completely different. Hops are an interesting plant. A great, fast growing vine with pretty flowers -- but real food, too! I hope you get to try some of those grilled shoots sometime! So good -- but those pickled ones are great, too!

I imagine them pickled would be wonderful, I love pickled beans so I am sure the hops would be great too.

Now you will have to grow some hops with all your other plants!

Oh heck no, that one is way to aggressive for me. lol I have plenty to handle as it is. Learned my lessons years ago and am careful about plants with underground runners... hahahaha

I had to laugh at your comment, @sunscape! I'm sure you have some tales about aggressive plants, lol. Easy to chuckle about now, but I'm sure they were work to deal with at the time!

I am still finding runners throughout my vegetable garden from a trumpet vine I planted 10 years ago and had to rip out after 2 years. Runners were 20 foot away and popping up in every direction. lol Yup, learned more than once.

Holy smokes! It's amazing how "enthusiastic" some plants can be. And to think how we have to coddle and cajole other ones, lol. Maybe you can plant the hops at your neighbors, lol -- or maybe along the edges of a vacant lot, where they can run rampant!

OMG! You made me laugh out loud. My neighbor has planted so many invasive plants over the years that have kept me pretty busy. I had a naughty moment in my head. oh my!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63788.86
ETH 2476.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66