How to Preserve Green Onions

in #food8 years ago

How to harvest & preserve Green Onion to enjoy in your recipes over the winter months.

Harvested & rinsed in water

Harvest your green onion while the shoots are young but not too big and tough. Cut them off where the shoots branch from the main stem. If you do not have a garden you can always pick up a few bunches at your local farm market during the growing season.

Keep the bulbs in the ground as they will continue to send up new shoots throughout the season. I sprinkle new green onion seeds onto the soil every year to ensure I have a continuing crop of tender young plants.


Chop the Green Onion


Line up your rinsed onion so that your ends are fairly even. Cut your shoots to your desired width with a very sharp knife.

Place on tray


Place the chopped green onion onto a cookie tray in a thin layer and place the tray into the freezer. It will not take long for them to freeze completely, I leave mine in for approximately 3 hours.

Prepare your storage containers while they are freezing, as you want them ready to fill quickly. When completely frozen, remove tray from freezer and quickly fill your freezer bags, as the onion starts to thaw a little bit while you fill the containers.

Be sure to label and date your container to insure freshness. Place the bags into the freezer for future use. When you need them for a recipe, just scoop out the amount you want to use and return the rest to the freezer. Simple and handy to have on hand all winter long.

Thank you for stopping by.

Until next time, this is Sunscape
Sun. Scape. Ing your day

Previous Posts @sunscape
My Website
My Etsy Store
My Tweets on Twitter

Sort:  

Nice info, I also freeze fruit or veggies after a week so they won't spoil in the fridge.

Good for you, I freeze everything! ;-)

Thank you papa-pepper, have a great day.

You're welcome!

Great post, thanks for the tips! Next year I will want to be doing exactly this... I plan to dig myself a veggie plot in the Spring :-)

Good for you, you will not be disappointed. Gardening and growing the right vegetables for your area will be so satisfying.

I'd love to see more tips like these - I have sage, parsley, oregano, and thyme in my garden that I'd like to preserve. Would it be the same process for all?

Hi, @sunscape! Good idea! I freeze everything too. And I need one more fridge next year, I guess)))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60970.82
ETH 2602.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65