Grilled Corn on the Cob Series - Unique Butter Toppings - Part 1

in #food7 years ago (edited)



Celebrate in style with these "unique" butter toppings for Roasted Corn on the Cob, a delightful way to step it up at your next barbecue.


These alternative to the old-fashioned corn on the cob are sure to be a hit at your family gatherings. Trying out new recipes like these simple toppers are a sure way to to get the attention of your guests. These would be perfect for you outdoor barbecues this summer and especially since it is the Fourth of July weekend here in the states.



Preparation

  • 6 Fresh ears of corn (or enough for your guests)
  • 6 Tbsp. butter
  • ice cubes
  • salt and pepper to taste (additional butter optional)



    Directions

  1. Remove all the silk and outer husks from the corn. Place your corn on super-duty aluminum foil and top with 1 - 2 Tbls. butter an 1 ice cube for steaming. Close up the corn inside the aluminum foil securely, twisting the ends tightly.
  2. Place on your grill over medium heat and turn the corn packets occasionally to cook evenly. They should be tender in approximately 25-30 minutes.
  3. Open your packets of corn very carefully to let the steam escape.
  4. Your corn is now ready to receive whatever topping you desire.



    Delightful Toppings for Corn on the Cob


    Prepare all your toppings ahead of time and serve the savory butters to your guests.



    Greek Style





    Southwest Style






    Mexican Style






    The above toppings of fresh herbs, citrus and seasonings are a wonderful way for you to make your festivities stand out this summer. The recipe ingredients can be increased for stronger flavors as these are on the mild side.


    Happy back yard barbecuing everyone!


Stay tuned for more flavorful toppings in my Corn on the Cob series by @sunscape.

Until next time, this is Sunscape...

Sun. Scape. Ing your day

Previous Posts @sunscape
My Website
My Etsy Store - Sunscapes Soaps & Soaks
My Etsy Store - Crystal Vibrations
My Tweets on Twitter

Sort:  

My god, this looks delicious, are the ingredients expensive?
Very nice post :)

Thanks @silent.screamer they are delicious and no the ingredients are usually on hand, but I do grow all my own herbs. :-) I will post more great recipes later this week.

These look absolutely scrumptious! And your attention to detail on the photos! (I'm swooning over your photos!)

Here I was just going to throw some corn on the charcoal grill tomorrow! (and trying my hand at grilled chicken souvlaki!) (fingers crossed!)

Reading your article makes me want to chomp on something like these guys!

Love your little friends. Enjoy your barbecue and thank you for the great comments. Happy 4th!

Got home and actually got to read rather than skim and found another one, yay!

Yay! Glad you found the corn post, I hope you try some of them, remember if you like stronger flavors at more ingredients to the butter.

Thx we love to BBQ and cook in outdoor Dutch ovens and this will fit nicely.

I am glad you liked the post, happy barbecuing!

great post sunscape! keep it up! and thanks again for following!

Your very welcome, thanks for the support.

I love corn on the cob and your captures of it with all the dressings look so so so appetizing.

I don't eat butter ~ I do manage to make other dressings with tahini, nut butters and coconut oil ~ But it's not quite the same somehow.

Thank you, I think using any topping would be awesome, I have never had tahini, will have to see what that is about.

Tahini is made from ground sesame seeds and is one of the main ingredients of hummus.

Best way to make hummus is to soak the chickpeas over night. Let them sprout for a few days and then blend. The add all the other usual ingredients to taste: Spanish onion (finely cut and soaked in lemon juice so you can still have the onion raw) garlic and herbs and the tahini.

Best tahinis are the unhulled ones. You can actually get one made from the black sesame seeds.

Most recipes for hummus say to cook the chick peas, but having them raw/sprouted gives so much more nutritional benefit. 🐋💖🐋

Thank you for that info, I love humus too. I imagine sprouting the peas is loaded with life giving nutrients, I will have to give this a go as I love sesame seeds too. Again, thanks.

YES. Sprouted chick peas are so HIGHLY beneficial. Good protein source for vegans and low on the glycemic index. Said to be an excellent cancer preventative ~ Along with broccoli seed sprouts.

Thank you for the info I am going to give them a whirl. love trying new things.

Thanks @rtdcs glad the corn looks good!

These are great! Definitely trying some of them this summer. I grill corn sometimes, but never thought to put an ice cube in the foil.

It works wonderfully and the corn is so tasty, I will be adding more varieties later this week.

It looks so delicious. Yummy! @sunscape ;)

Thank you Ana, you would really enjoy this tasty corn on the grill. It is the best!

Wow I`ve never had grill corn, maybe someday when I visit you @sunscape

They are melt in your mouth scrumptious!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70855.87
ETH 3805.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49