This Raw Ovo-Vegetarian Smoothie Tastes Like A Banana Milkshake And Keeps You Full All Day

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone,

Today I'm going to share a recipe I created ...a very simple recipe which I love for several reasons.

  • It's quick and easy to make.
  • The ingredients are 100% raw.
  • It's nutrient dense and tastes delicious.
  • It keeps you full for hours and is excellent for providing energy either before or after a workout.
  • It's relatively low carb. If I limit myself to one of these per day then I'm still within the carb limits for a ketogenic diet.
  • It's vegetarian. Not that I am vegetarian. I'm not, but it's great for people who are, who might not get enough healthy raw fat in their diet (this recipe contains about 80 grams) and/or have trouble with feeling hungry all the time as I did when I was on a vegetarian diet.

IMG_2208[1].JPG

Here's the recipe...

  • 1/2 or 1 small banana -- I prefer them not too ripe
  • 4 raw, organic, or pasture raised eggs
  • 2 avocados
  • 1 tablespoon raw honey -- or more to suit your taste
  • 1/2 tray of ice cubes made from purified water

You can also add raw carob powder for a chocolate taste, and/or fresh or frozen organic berries for extra flavor and nutrition. Then blend until smooth and creamy. Makes one LARGE glassful...

IMG_2211[1].JPG

I eat a 100% raw diet, so I have these smoothies almost every day. I find them especially helpful when I'm feeling toxic or acidic. They are great for soothing raw nerves...

...As I mentioned in my intro, I am autistic and one of the symptoms common among the autistic are digestion issues. Stress -- which we seem to have a lot of -- makes it worse. These smoothies are a life-saver for me because they are so soothing to the digestive tract and nerves.

NOTE: Many of the honeys labeled "raw", have been heated to 118 degrees Fahrenheit, or higher if an extractor was used. As honey is heated above 93 degrees, it turns into a harmful, radical sugar -- might as well just buy some white sugar from the supermarket. Unfortunately, businesses are allowed to label this cooked honey as raw, since it hasn't been heated to pasteurization temperatures. Really Raw is a brand that I trust above most others. From the hive to the jar, it's never been heated to any degree.

Buying avocadaos --- What I prefer to do is look for avocados which are hard and green. I usually buy up to 20 at a time, keep them in a basket until they get just a little soft then put them in the refrigerator. They will last 10 days or more this way.

Thanks for reading! If you make this recipe, please let me know how you liked it!

Enjoy!

Sort:  

This looks excellent!!! And very good for you - - I loved how you gave a good explanation on how to make sure that honey is raw - also - it is very important to offer vegetarian options - - that are healthy - - as often many do not get enough fat and high grade protein. It is equally valuable to people who eat meat as an addition to their diet to get fats and the high quality of protein that raw eggs give to us - very nourishing for the cells of many different systems - including the major organs, nervous system, and glands.

For those who have reservations about raw eggs - - I am 65 years on this planet - and have had raw eggs since I was 3 months old - I was born prematurely with major health challenges - in the fifties we still had old time, NATURAL loving pediatricians who did not like the on coming rise of the pharmaceuticals and the way that people were being pushed into corporate foods - - I was given raw milk with raw eggs stirred in several times a day - - I have never been sick with samenella - - truly free range hens and ducks who can eat lots of greens, bugs and worms - which poultry are natually supposed to do - - produce healthy eggs!

I have been involved as a Jungian Psychologist in Integrative medicine from the 1970s on - seen thousands of clients pass through the health clinics I have worked in - and never have seen people do poorly on raw eggs as long as they are truly from hens, ducks, geese who have been living on pasture and given lots of greens, worms and organic feed during the winter when living in a snow area

Thank you for this comment. I've been eating raw eggs since 09, and have never been sick from them. That's wonderful you were given raw milk and eggs rather than formula -- which is what I was given when I had a reaction to pasteurized cow's milk -- what my mother had been feeding me.

I don't doubt your experience with clients doing well on raw eggs. A genius nutritionist I knew of said that he used raw eggs to recover patients on their death beds ...that it was the only food they could keep down and digest. One woman in her 90's was supposed to have died and he told her to eat raw eggs ...as many as she could eat per day, and nothing else. She ate 2-3 dozen each day and made a miraculous recovery ...and continued with the raw eggs until she died years later.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.02
ETH 2553.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78