You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Why I Got Stiffed" Guy's Waiter Blog chapter 5

in #food8 years ago

Unconscionable to me to stiff a server - unless something went seriously wrong, like to the point where I personally witness them spitting in my food! Servers work so hard to provide a delightful dining experience, and deserve 20% or better. In fact, when my kids were little, one of our favorite traditions if we were traveling was to choose one meal where we'd give the "big tip" ($20 extra - which was a fortune to me at the time) to a server who'd somehow struck a chord with us. Sometimes the server would tear up... and of course, I would, too.

Sort:  

Aw thanks for understanding, and such a powerful story and gesture on your part. You obviously get it, and that servers aren't "asking for charity" by any means. I appreciate your (now very precious!) upvote, and I will keep on posting to help other people understand the ins and outs of how the financial dynamics really work. The conversation often gets heated, so hope you'll stick around to comment as well.
Best, Guy

My HLB (husband-like being)'s son has been a server for years - and I go a little Mama-Bear on this topic. It's not right not to tip generously for good service. If diners can't afford to tip well for good service, they should stay home.

Ha, a common sentiment! So much so in fact it's my proposed book title....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63501.83
ETH 2650.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81