Backyard Berry Hunt ===> World's Ugliest Pie... but ohhhhhh so good!

in #food7 years ago (edited)

What happens when you neglect to weed around your house in northeast Tennessee? You get a tasty present... BERRIES!

IMG_1329.JPG

OK - so the science there's a bit sketchy... but it's what happened. I knew the prior homeowners here were good gardeners who'd planted stuff I'd cut down in prior years. So, I was up for letting it all just grow like crazy this year to see what we had.

IMG_1332.JPG

Blackberries, black raspberries, and blueberries everywhere!

IMG_1334.JPG

IMG_1336.JPG

So, we got out there and pick, pick, picked 'em. They fought back, of course, with their prickly thorns. We got a few cups of berries, though. (The blueberries still aren't ripe, so I added some from a local farm.)

IMG_1339.JPG

Washed them all (we don't use pesticides, but didn't really want the added protein of eating bugs!)...

IMG_1340.JPG

Added 1/2 cup of flour and 1/2 cup of sugar...

IMG_1341.JPG

And dumped the mix into a frozen pie shell (cheating, I know... but I get impatient).

IMG_1342.JPG

The pie shells came two to the package, so I flipped the extra one upside down and used it as a top crust. Got a tad carried away with venting it... thereby creating possibly the ugliest pie in the world. (Like anyone cares!)

IMG_1344.JPG

My sweetie says you should let pie cool before you eat it. Ehhhh... I'm thinking just scoop it into a bowl, add a little milk (to cool the molten lava-like fruit), and eat it up.

IMG_1345.JPG

Ugly? Yeah. But ohhhhh so good.

Sort:  

"World's Ugliest Pie"

No pie is ugly! :)

haha - I think you may be right!

Looks delicious :) your hard work paid off.

Worth every thorny scratch!

Did someone say pie...

Indeed :) Wish I could share slices (er... scoops?) instead of just images.

I bet it tasted very good. Looks don't matter pie is always good.

Even cheating with a store-bought pie crust, it tasted a little like heaven!

And letting the pie cool before eating is for sissies, lol. Seriously though, that pie actually looks great. As in - seriously tasty.

I agree! What's a 3rd degree tongue burn among friends?

Looks delicious: Look do not matter pie is always good

Agreed! Especially when it's homemade.

That looks so yummy!!!!!

It sure WAS! Now it's just a sweet memory :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61672.72
ETH 2996.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78