The Smallest Coffee Shop in Toronto - The Coffee LabsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Wanna visit Toronto's smallest cafe?

Next time you are in downtown, near the Shoe Museum or the University of Toronto, remember to check out The Coffee Lab. At merely 50-square-foot in size, not only it is the smallest cafe in Toronto, I think it is also one of the most uniques.

They are located in the oddest location. In fact, they occupied a tiny counter at the entrance of an used book store while their immediate next store neighbour is a shipping company. Definitely unusual in terms of location and not what you would expect. But, I find it interesting and I quite like it.

Further, they created a science lab feels by using test tubes and beakers to keep their beans. It's truly fun and you would for sure get a kick out of it. When you order a coffee, the barista (also the cafe owner) would offer you a sniff of the day's selection.

If you are searching for a decent coffee in that area and don't feel like the same old Starbucks, Second Cups, or Tim Hortons, then you must give it a try! I'm lucky that my office is relatively nearby and I could visit frequently!

IMG_20160406_131213.jpg

IMG_20160406_131256.jpg

IMG_20160406_131315.jpg

IMG_20160406_131727.jpg

Sort:  

Quaint little place. Thanks for sharing. Upvoted.

Indeed @randystiefer - Like this coffee spot a lot!

aha... I've never been there before. Hilarious. I have great coffee place near my house and they grind beans for me so I rarely go elsewhere. Toronto has a boat load of wicked little coffee place !

Agreed, the coffee scene in our city is quite something @jaybird - there is a roaster house on greenwood ave that I absolutely like too.

That's too far away from me :( I'm in the west lol. Lots a of hipster coffee shops tho!

I think your photo colours are just so much better! Great show. Love the tour of tranna's small cafe scene. I'm obligated to support the small entrepreneur but rarely get to work with them. (We get the future starbucks instead of the individual proprietor.) Speaking of which, a shot with the barista would have been fun too.

Thanks for doing these! I haven't been to TO for 30 years. Incredible, that.

LOL - the cafe owner was busy making my latte and serving others. Didn't wanna disturb him.

I love the creative quirky places that Toronto incubates. Thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54349.85
ETH 2284.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32