Gluten Free Greek Yoghurt 'Fusilli' and CheesesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

Mac and Cheese is an American classic dish. Many children in North America grew up with this dish at home. I was first introduced to Mac and Cheese at university when I was living with 3 other Canadian girls. However, it was in a Kraft Dinner box. It was not long though until I discovered that it is full of chemicals and all the bad stuff. Thank goodness, I stopped eating those long time ago.

And then I met this Italian family and they make their own version of Mac and Cheese from fresh ingredients. Actually, they do not use Macaroni, instead they use Fusilli. It was explained to me that this corkscrew shaped pasta is perfect with sauce, including the cheesy sauce, as this pasta picks up a lot more sauce than Macaroni shaped pasta. Meaning, it's more satisfying when you are eating the pasta! Hence, these days, I only use fusilli to make my 'mac' and cheese, or I called the dish 'fusilli' and cheese instead.

The other day, I had some leftover greek yoghurt and some gluten free fusilli (made from rice), I decided to make some 'Fusilli' and Cheese. Since there was a lot of greek yoghurt in this dish and it's loaded with protein already, I served it as a meatless lunch.

IMG_20170930_141832.jpg

IMG_20170930_132917.jpg

This dish is super easy to put together:

  • After cooking the pasta, drain and rinse under cold water
  • Make the sauce by combining butter, gluten free flour, garlic powder, salt and pepper. Add almond milk, greek yoghurt and cheese to make a thick cheesy sauce
  • Pour the sauce onto the pasta, mix with some veggie (I used spinach) and bake in the oven

And then it's done.

IMG_20170930_134737.jpg

IMG_20170930_135715.jpg

There is nothing fancy about this dish but I like it because it satisfies my craving for carbs and cheese, but in a healthier way due to the ingredients I used. This is just basic home cooking and I like it!

Sort:  

I am gluten intolerant... Thank you so much for sharing the recipe! :)

My pleasure and I hope to share more gluten intolerant recipe in the future as my husband too is gluten intolerant.

simple food actually is the best

I couldn't agree more!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63352.53
ETH 2447.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67