Star Fruit Fun Facts

in #food6 years ago

20181019_200036_resized.jpg

Star fruit or Carambola is a tropical fruit that can be also found in the US supermarkets. People love the perfect star formation when the fruit is sliced around the middle. It is fun to serve it as a garnish or in salads with other fruits.

20181019_200105_resized.jpg

I had the privilege to live in the Caribbean for a while, so I got really familiar to this delicious fruit. There was a Carambola tree right in front of the house I was renting. That tree was sooo productive! The fruits looked so weird to me, like little lanterns! They were growing quite fast, from tiny green bulbs to fist-sized-juicy-oblong pieces of heaven. I liked them green, they had a prickly taste, like a green apple, but 100 times juicier.

The star fruit is such a versatile and forgiving fruit! You can use it green in soups and other main savory dishes. If you pick it up green and store it in a dark place, it will ripen and become much sweeter. Then you can use it in deserts, shakes, smoothies...

You can also let it ripe naturally in the tree... of course... I couldn't do that because the birds loved the fruits too... so they were eating them before me... Especially those colorful and oh-so-noisy parrots... they were my enemies when it came down to that. :)

On a final note, if you see these fruits in the supermarket, go ahead and buy a couple. You will enjoy the taste! Did I mention the health benefits? Star fruit is rich in vitamin C, vitamin A and Potassium! Anti-oxidant, anti-inflammatory, anti-cancer, good for skin, heart and muscles. And YUMMY!

blackdividersmall.png

Follow me and my stories smallbest.gif

SB_new.png

Sort:  

Star fruit is available in our country. But many do not like it. Most of fruits are destroyed from trees.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Why are the fruits destroyed and who does that? People or birds? I am curious.

Good Info Thanks

This fruits it made me remember when i was a child, its delicious

I don't think I have ever had star fruit in my whole life, but now I want to try it out.

Here in Brazil we have a lot of star fruit, and they are delicious!
Thanks for sharing!

Thanks for the info on star fruit. I have not tried it but I might if I see any in the store.

I like carambola.
in my country Have a riddle.
The wolf is coming? Guess a fruit, the answer is the carambola

Ooooo look at that amazing fruit

Wonderful, this fruit is not in my country

I like star fruits, nice pic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63820.95
ETH 2497.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69