My love for vegetable soup "Edikang Ikong".

in #food6 years ago (edited)

I'm not much of a foodie, but there's something about vegetable soup that gets my digestive system to come alive. I don't know if it's the smell of softly cooked fresh pumpkin leaves (ugwu) and water leaf or the aroma that comes from the different types of meat and fish combined in the soup. Where I'm from we call it Edikang Ikong, all I know is there's so much joy at the prospect of eating it, I could even spend my last cash to get it. It's a wonder I haven't been kidnapped with it.

PhotoGrid_1517782007398.jpgPhotoGrid_1517781481738.jpg

Ingredients
1kg of pumpkin leaves(ugwu)
500g of Waterleaves
1cup of periwinkles
1medium onions
200ml of Palmoil
600g of beef,pomo,stock fish
Salt,maggi cubes,ground crayfish and salt to taste.

Direction
Cut and wash the pumpkin leaves(ugwu)and water leaves into tiny pieces.

Put them in seperate sieves to drain water out.

Cook the beef,pomo &stockfish with I bulb onion and add a little quantity of water.

When the meat is ready, add palm oil ,crayfish with pepper and leave to boil for about 10ninutes , the palm oil serve as liquid in the soup.

Add the periwinkles and water leaves to cook for 5minutes .

Add the pumpkin leave(ugwu) ,maggi cubes and salt to taste.

Stir well and reduce the heat

Turn off the gas and cover the pot for some minutes and serve.

You can serve it with Garri, pounded yam,Semovita etc.

I could be so skinny if i don't have my tastebud(smile).

Sort:  

Is good that we are also promoting our local dishes to the world. One of the challenges is that some people outside nigeria may find it difficult to get the ingredients.

Yes that's normal. It's the same thing for foreign dishes in Nigeria here but it makes the dish all the more special and valuable in those countries @africanpoet.

And please stop giving people ideas on what to use to kidnap you.

Ah when should i come for mine?

Lolz!!!!don't worry just close your eyes and you're gonna see the vegetable in front of you @mistakili

Vegetable soup is my best soup thanks a wonderful post thanks for sharing keep up the good work.

Thank you @youngeric, I'm glad you like the post.

How could somebody in this blessed world drop something like this on this platform, I suggest some post should be checked, certified, recross checked again and again before posting them. @stacey31, you are wicked, chai, chai, there is God

Jeez!!!you're making feel bad nau(lolz) was just trying to showcase my skills, never knew you fell in love with the soup @royalheir .

You are not much of a foodie? Please i am. Hahaha. How soon can i visit? I once tasted this at my friend's place back then, and i totally loved it. She 'massacred' it with fish. It was so sweet. Expect a visitor soon o.

Lolz.....alright dear @oluwalium.

For the sake of that veggy, i wouldn't mind that you called me Oluwalium instead of Olawalium

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68168.17
ETH 3256.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67