I Asked for Waffles and Hash Browns - My 15-yr-old Brought Me...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food8 years ago

Waffles Made of Hash Browns

Healthier than Hash Browns, these are made with no oil, but rather a spritz of cooking oil.


Mess

My son, though the teen-agerest teenager, stepped out this morning with a new idea. He shredded potatoes and jammed them in the waffle maker. I allow experimentation - he probably gets if from me.

The first thing I jammed into the waffle maker was hamburger meat. Photos coming - if I can find them, after all it was 3-5 years ago and the "photos" folder is popping at the seams.

We tried naming them "Waffurgers" or "Burgeffles" and neither caught on. Though we had not used any cooking spray, the meat had started to produce its juices, and smoke had started to fill the house. Experimentation is the only important thing.

But, today we have a new snack and it only took a couple of tries. We are still eating our...

Help ! We Need a Name For These

Steem

I have had shoe strings, thin fries, fat fries, potato chips, cross-cut, up-cut, down-cut, tater-tots, and even waffle-fries (I think those were from Mr. Hero when I was in Ohio), but these guys are not waffles though they have the shape and look of them . They are not hash browns but they do taste like them. I am drawing a blank on what to call this new invention.

My son will likely "dibbs" the right to name them, but I will see to it he sees your comments, if you would like to help us name them. He has dictated the ingredients and process to me - shared below.

The recipe is quite simple:

  • Peel potatoes
  • Shred Potatoes
  • Spray waffle iron with cooking spray
  • Cover horizontal plate with potato shreds
  • Add minced onions to what will be the middle
  • Cover onions with more shredded potatoes
  • Cook until the toasty-brown

Imgur

With Onions

You may have some parts that become black - that would be the onions. When cooking cubed hash browns, I usually wait until the diced potatoes are well browned in a skillet before adding onions and garlic, but this is my son's invention - user name @osame066 - and his mess. He would have posted but we are still trying to get his access key back - he had it on his hard-disk and windows did its normal thing. Crash - Reformat. He is hoping to be back on Steemit soon!

Let Me Know What You Think!

Imgur

Kids messing around in your kitchen deserve upvotes and comments too :)

Sources: All mine taken just now.

Sort:  

Yum! I've been thinking about getting a grill, griddle, waffle, sandwich maker combo for the kitchen. Time to start seriously looking so I can try it!

Great idea @sponge-bob I will follow your post

Exchellent work again :)
Thank you for sharing !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62763.51
ETH 2579.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72