Low-Carb / Keto friendly Crack Slaw for dinner. Yumm...

in #food7 years ago

Living the Keto life is not always fun, but it works. I'm loosing weight and life is good. The initial problem when starting a keto diet is finding foods you really enjoy and can eat often. Well one of my favorites is called "crack slaw" by many in the keto community. It is ground beef (or chicken, I've done both), cold slaw and seasonings cooked down to tender awesomeness. It is savory and filling so you will not go hungry. It also makes a large recipe so we always have leftovers to take for lunch.

I'll give you all the ingredients below:
1lb organic ground beef (or chicken)
2 16oz bags of cold slaw (net carbs 3g per 1 1/2 cups uncooked)
2tbsp olive oil
2tbsp apple cider vinegar
3-4 tbsp organic soy sauce (I like 4 or more tbsp)
4tbsp Green Dragon Sauce (from Trader Joe's)
1tsp salt
1tsp pepper
1tsp garlic powder
1tbsp onion flakes or powder
1tsp sesame seeds

Brown your ground beef in a large skillet, then add the 2 bags of slaw mix and all the seasonings listed. Cover and cook over medium heat allowing the cabbage to steam until tender. I normally let it simmer 20-25 minutes.
As a side note, some recipes call for adding a teaspoon of sugar, but I don't. I keep the net carbs down to about 3g per cup

I hope you enjoy the Crack Slaw. Happy Steemin' folks.

Sort:  

@solley Thank you for sharring! I am going to have to try this one...I am trying to incorporate Intermittent Fasting with a high fat, low carb diet! The cravings are the worst part for me! If you get a minute sometime, take a look at my page @molsen88 where I am trying to document my journey. Best of luck to you!

I will follow you. I need inspiration. I also do intermittent fasting. You are correct, it is a journey not a race. I miss all my favorite junk food, but i feel better and have lost 35lbs in a year. It's a slow process. Good luck too you also.

Congratulations @solley! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I make a version of this too on Keto. I just love cabbage and ground beef together.

It's great with chicken too. I had a rotissary chicken and used it for a change. It was very good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11