Nips - A Filipino Sweet Treat. Candy Review

in #food7 years ago

Well, let's call this an impulse buy, something about the name maybe, as I was waiting in line at the variety shop.


The packaging reminded me of the mini M n M's I get in Canada at similar type shops. I do love chocolate though I have been able to to ease my addiction and have stopped eating it in bed before I sleep. Turns out other things can also bring sweet dreams.

They are a little bigger than MnM's and more shaped like Smarites, the rival of MnM's. The shape is still not exactly like either though, maybe the shape is internationally copyrighted. The sugary candy coating were brightly coloured just I as had expected, like MnM's.

The taste was comparable but less sweet than Smarties or MnM's. The chocolate was soft even though my apartment isn't the warmest this time of year. If you hold the candy in your mouth and the let it warm up the candy coating does't melt until you crush with your tongue releasing the melted chocolates sweetness all over your mouth. Delicious.

It's got a nice solid container that keeps them safe from crushing should they fall out of your pocket while your practicing parkour or fall into water while trying to run across it. Plus you can keep it and use to keep stuff in later such as love letters or random screws and buttons you will most likely never use. I suspect it floats if the inside isn't filled with heavy objects.

I was a good snack. I should have bought more, like a pair or maybe a couple pairs of Nips. Now I'm going to be craving Nips until I get back and buy more.

Sort:  

Hmmmm, you post just show how you love sweet things so much

Dam those seem very good ones gotta try someday!

good post. I like it.

glad you enjoyed.

Are there any comparable mexican chili spicy candies over there? We got a bag full of some hard candies (warheads) with chili in the very center, they always have the best flavors (watermelon, pineapple, tamarindo and strawberry) and it's a travesty to chew them but you hardly can stop yourself :/.

I'd try those don't know if the chili in the center will be to my taste but you never know, i might just love it. Sweet and spicy sounds like a good combo.

It might surprise you, I discovered them about 3 years ago lol ;D. There's hard candies that have chili all over them and then there's kinda chewy ones that are covered in chili and have it throughout, maahh my mouth's watering.

Oh my goodness! This is the sweetest post that I've read in my Steemit feeds today! Jack n Jill should really give you credit for featuring Nips lol :-) They make a lot of good treats and very well-known here. I love Nips too and my favorite one is the Nips with chocolate coated peanuts and raisins. I could also relate to that moment - eating chocolates before bed time haha :-) . I also like Cloud 9 chocolate (with nougat , caramel and peanuts), Goya chocolates and Choco mucho (chocolate bar with caramel and rice crispies). I think I should write a blog about them too. We never know I'd get a year supply of chocolates. I really enjoyed this post, as in seriously! Thank you for sharing @solarguy! Upvoted ;-)

Cloud 9 sounds like something i need to try. I love nugget with chocolate.

Cloud 9 is one of the oldest brand of chocolate we have here. You'll really feel like in Cloud 9 when you try it. I always love all types of chocolates, dark chocolate, white chocolate, milk chocolate or even that traditional chocolate drink made from Cacao or Cocoa beans. I think the only chocolate you can't eat here are the chocolate hills in Bohol. I'm just kidding lol 😜

it looks like great man... i wish i could have taste it....

They must have some delicious chocolates where you live too. Share that with us. ^^

love to have a meal this food

haha, yes a whole meal of candy and chocolate, that's my type of buffet. ^^

Your chocolate knowledge is so informative as well interesting.thanks for [email protected] I will try these.

thanks, I do love some good chocolate, there's a flavour for every occasion.

nice post..Thanks for sharing i will done upvote I always see your post. And follow you

great your post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63156.23
ETH 2560.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83