My New favourite Vegetable Rediscovered in the Meatiest of Restaurants. 冰草 Ice Grass

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Ice Grass is every bit as refreshing as it looks but it is not what it looks like.

It looks like it just came out of the freezer or its able to grow outside in the snowy winter but it's the exact opposite. It grows in south China and I am told it's a new invention. I had never seen anything like it before and what an amazing discovery. I first tried it a couple months ago at a fancy restaurant my boss took me too. I never thought I'd see it again, what luck to find it here.

Those little beads are not frost or ice they are simply water bubbles. It really has no taste, it's very mild like lettuce but very crisp as though it were ice. I just eat the way it is, no dressing, no cooking and even though it's at room temperature it still gives me the feeling like I'm biting into a fresh Cesar salad's ice berg lettuce. If you ever see it on the menu do not miss out on this, you will love it.

I was out at Brazilian BBQ with some friends last night which famous for its roasted meat and table service. They have a buffet with all you can eat and the waiter comes to your table to slice the fresh out of over or hot off the grill selections of meat.


(Raost Beef, tender, juicy and hot.)

Not only do they come around with mutton, beef, chicken, shrimp and a variety of different parts of the animals you can not come here and not crawl out overloaded with food. The squid was good too.

They also have some simple desserts and fruits. A nice touch to finish the meal. If you manage to save enough room you might like these but people don't come here for the cakes, so much less effort is put into them but still yummy.

It really is the best as the name suggests. Pretty ballsy to name yourself the best, at least these guys really have it down. They closed rather early at 9:00pm so don't be late arriving. It's incredibly busy 6:30pm - 8:00pm but by 8:30pm they stop making cooking and people start filtering out.

By the time we left it was pretty much empty and the staff were kindly pushing us to find the exit. I'm sure they're tired and can't wait to get home before the last bus or train stops the night. This place is a little off the beaten path and finding taxi after 9:00pm must be real pain, as I learned.

Hungry Yet?

Sort:  

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is out of the conceptual phase and growing each day. We would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

We are almost ready to Launch the first Decentralized Recipe and Food Blog Website that will utilize the Steem BlockChain and its community to reward contributions by its members.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Ps. Please reply “No Vote” if you prefer not to receive this vote and comment in the future.

That sounds very cool Thanks reaching out to me. I love writing about food I eat and cook. You got my support and follow. Thanks for the new tag, I edited it in already.

My that's a big sword full of meat! I've never seen a place that carves table side before. Pretty cool. I'd be afraid to name a restaurant Best. If your food wasn't the best you'd be shutting the doors real quick.

So true and its the only place I've been to they carve meat at the table. It's good quick service, the system works.

Gosh, what a yummy feast you had! I love going to buffets with my co-workers and friends but I don't take photos with my food that much =) Buffets I went to are mostly seafoods. Maybe I should try different next time. Buffets has wide range selection of good food that makes it the best place to eat.

The Ice Grass looks very interesting and surely crunchy and delicious. At first look I thought it's a frozen Spinach lol. I hope we have that here too. So I can also try.

I'm sure it will find its way all over the world soon.

The food menu at this place is really complete, the presentation is very good, certainly the cuisine here is expensive and it is certainly favors, delicious and healthy.
Like @solarguy

It's not cheap. but far from "too expensive" for the locals.

Glad you liked the photos.

omg =) mmmmmm

great post- just so you know a real Caesar salad has Romaine not Iceberg lettuce.

ah Romaine, That's the stuff. It's just like that and a real Cesar is suppose to have anchovies which I love. My grandfather and dad have a really good homemade recipe.

This food photography yummy
It's looking lovely

Thanks. It was delicious.

testy food photography.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64136.76
ETH 3522.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57