Using my new wok to make basil chicken stir-fry (original recipe)

in #food7 years ago

IMG_20171226_182446.jpg

Today is Boxing day which means sales! I needed a new pan so I went shopping and found a new wok plus 7 bamboo utensils for $25 Australian dollars! I decided to try out the wok by making my own version of 3 cup chicken which is a Taiwanese dish. Because I didn't have ginger, I had to improvise.

Ingredients


300 grams of chicken thigh fillet, cubed
5-8 cloves of garlic, peeled and chopped
10-15 fresh basil leaves or as desired
2 tablespoons soy sauce
2 tablespoons of sesame oil
2 tablespoons of rice wine (I added more)
2 teaspoons honey (or you can use brown sugar)
2 tablesppons rice bran oil
1 teaspoon chilli flakes as desired or you can use fresh chilies
[I recommend adding slices of ginger]

20171226_181446.jpg

Method

  1. Marinate the chicken with soy sauce, sesame oil, rice wine, honey, garlic and half of the basil leaves for 30 min
  2. Heat rice bran oil and stir fry the garlic until fragrant.
  3. Add the marinaded chicken with the sauce and stir fry until browned.
  4. Add rest of basil leaves and chilli flakes and continue to stir fry for a minute or two until cooked through.

Serve with steamed rice.

2017-12-26 18.46.30.jpg

All photos taken with my Samsung Galaxy s5.

@snooway

Sort:  

Looks delicious! Thanks for sharing the recipe :)

Nice photography nice recipe. Where you from?

Thanks. From Taiwan originally

Me from bangladesh. Nice too meet you snoway.

Simple and delicious. Just what everyone needs

Thanks!

廚藝不錯呀!

Looks very delicious and it must taste great. 3-cup Chicken is my favorite Hakka dish!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58984.04
ETH 2551.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35