Eating in Melbourne: Three ramen restaurants

in #food8 years ago

There are many ramen restaurants in Melbourne and I have tried about five of them. Today I want to share my review of 3 of the ramen restaurants in the CBD. My favourite one is Ikkoryu Fukuoka. It is located in a basement but the restaurant is bright and spacious. The seating is very comfortable and it does not get too noisy even when the restaurant is full. The waiter was very friendly and helpful in explaining the menu. You can order the soup base and choose the amount of noodles, the amount of ramen oil, the chewy-ness of the noodles, the amount of garlic, etc. I ordered the black garlic ramen with added egg. The soup was full of flavour. I think the noodles were just right, not to hard or soft. The noodles are thinner than most ramen places. The best part was the egg. The egg yolk was so tasty! Their black seasame ice cream and green tea mochi was delicious too.


(Black garlic ramen from Ikkoryu Fukuoka Ramen, 27 Russell St)

Mugen Ramen is a small restaurant that has two floors. We were seated in the basement. The tables are very close together so it was noisy. They are famous for their handmade noodles and most people recommend their tsukemen. I have never tried tsukemen before so it was an interesting experience. You are supposed to dip the noodles in the sauce and after finishing the noodles they give you dashi broth to add to the leftover dipping sauce. The texture of the noodles was the best I've had but I prefer Tonkatsu soup base over the wafu one. The pork slices were a bit thick.

(Wafu Tsukemen from Mugen ramen, 11 Bligh Pl)

Shujinko is a 24 hr ramen place. The noodles I ordered came with 2 pieces of chashu pork, half an egg, and some bok choy. The broth was nice but after a few sips I thought it was a bit too salty. The bowl was huge but the amount of noodles was actually not very big.

(Shujinko ramen from Shujinko, 225 Russell St)

All photos taken with my Samsung Galaxy s5.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 67674.48
ETH 3755.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72