🐃 The Best Way to Prepare Steak 🍽

in #food7 years ago (edited)

I've been using this method to prepare pan fried steak for a very long time and I've yet to try a method that works as wonderfully as this. It's so simple yet makes the meat so tender and delicious you'll (MOST LIKELY) never want to do it any other way. I'm sure I'm not the only one with knowledge of this, but I love it so much that I had to share it with everyone. I ADORE and highly recommend ribeye cuts, (like the one shown in the photo, which is one that I cooked) but I've also tried this with New York strip and it worked. The magic ingredients here are coarse sea salt and one hour of time. When you take the steaks out of the package, rinse them lightly in cold water, lay them on a tray or baking sheet and completely coat them on both sides with the coarse sea salt. It may seem extreme if you've never done it before, but the steaks should be HEAVILY coated with the salt. (Please make note that TABLE SALT WILL NOT WORK FOR THIS. I've tried and it was a total disaster. I also do not recommend Himalayan salt because I tried that as well and it made the meat TOO salty.) You can gently press the salt into the steaks with your hand to help it stick. Cover the steaks and let them sit at room temp for 30 minutes, then turn them over and let them sit covered for another 30 minutes. Once they have "marinated" for the full hour, rinse the salt off with cold water and dab the steaks with a paper towel before seasoning. I DO NOT recommend that you add any extra salt to your steaks after rinsing the sea salt off or they will probably be too salty. The sea salt treatment does a great job all by itself. All I add to mine are black pepper and the Brummel & Brown butter that I cook them in and I wouldn't have it any other way. I feel like all these extreme "steak seasonings" that you see at the store overpower the awesome flavor the meat naturally has. But of course, that's just my opinion. When frying your steaks, I recommend first using a high heat setting to achieve the crisp, brown outer layer, then turn your heat down accordingly if you want your steak more well-done to avoid burning it. I personally like mine rare to medium rare so I only fry mine for a couple minutes on each side using high heat. I sincerely hope you all will try this for yourselves and enjoy it as much as my family does. Happy Indulging!!! 😋

Sort:  

Congratulations @snailshack! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70118.25
ETH 3744.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84