Lasagna Stuffed Spaghetti Squash | Oven Originals # 2

in #food6 years ago

lasagna collage.png
Hello, my fellow Steemians! Today I'm gonna be making Lasagna Stuffed Spaghetti Squash. If you've never had spaghetti squash it's very mild tasting compared to other squashes. I'm not gonna lie to you and say you won't know the difference between pasta and spaghetti squash. I don't really equate spaghetti squash to pasta in any way other than it works in many Italian dishes. I usually try to impart some history of the dish in this first paragraph but in this case, it just came to me. I tried these out last week just to see if the dish works and let me tell you it is delicious. I cook them right in the squash so each half is a serving and it comes with its own bowl.
ricotta.jpg
Ingredients:
2 large spaghetti squash
3 cups of mozzarella
1/2 small red onion
1 container of ricotta cheese
1/2 cup of parmesan cheese
1 egg
2 jars Classico roasted garlic sauce
1 lb ground beef
minced garlic to taste
salt and pepper
squash collage.png
To start off pre-heat the oven to 400 degrees. Cut the 2 squashes in half lengthwise and scoop out the seeds. A good method is to take a large spoon and slightly cut into the squash above the seeds and scrape the seeds out in one clump. If you want you can roast the seeds with a little olive oil and salt and pepper. They are very similar to pumpkin seeds. Place the squashes in a roasting pan cut side down and add a half inch of water to the pan. Bake for 35 to 45 minutes until tender and can be pierced with a fork.onions.jpg

While the squash is cooking mince your onion and add to a pan with olive oil over medium-high heat. cook until onions are translucent about 5 minutes. Add garlic cook for 2 minutes and then add the beef. Season with salt and pepper and brown meat. Add the spaghetti sauce lower heat and let simmer for 5 to 10 minutes. Remove from heat and let cool.sauce collage.png

In a large mixing bowl combine 1 cup of mozzarella and parmesan cheese with the ricotta cheese and a beaten egg. Really mix it up well and add salt and pepper to taste. I love garlic so I add some to the cheese mix as well but this is up to your preference. Reserve the rest of the mozzarella cheese for the top of squashes.pre cheese1.jpg

Use a fork and shred the squash into spaghetti-like strands. Leave about a half of inch of squash in the shells. Mix the squash into the meat sauce. Wipe out any remaining water from roasting pan and arrange squash halves like bowls. Spoon some cheese mixture into each half and spread evenly. Do the same with sauce mix. Repeat until you are out of each. Return to the oven for 15 minutes at 400 degrees. Sprinkle the remaining cheese over each half and return to the oven for an additional 15 to 20 minutes until the cheese is bubbly and browned in spots. For a more golden top turn on the broiler for a couple minutes. Serve with some garlic bread for a great tasting meal.dinner161.jpg

Alright, that's all I've got this time around. Let me know how you enjoyed the meal. Bon Appetit! - @slowcookingchefsquash1.jpg

Kitchen Music: Silversun Pickups - Carnavas

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-19T19:20:48
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 91.00/100.00
Total Photos: 14
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

What a cool and original dish! I really like this one.

Thanks, @chefsteve! Most recipes I make are my version of a dish but this one is squarely mine. It really works and it saves you many calories from the pasta being gone.

I would totally eat that up! Easy clean up too; just toss the the shell of the squash. Brilliant @slowcookingchef.

Very nice Chef! Certainly deserves more than .93 cents! Welcome to Steemit, just keep going and good things should happen!

Yeah, I'm just churning along I tend to do better on the cookwithus posts. I'm sure eventually I'll start making more but for now it's cool I'm just making dinner and taking photos of it.

Nice. Glad to hear you are doing well. I'm in Kiev, Ukraine! Fantastic place to spend a summer month or two.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87