Setting up the PITEBA Oil Press [VIDEO]

in #food7 years ago

When we first started on our homesteading journey, we were very interested in finding a way to press our own oil. We like knowing exactly what is in the food we eat, and making our own oil is one step on that path.

However, it was actually somewhat difficult to find a good oil press. All of the oil presses that were of a reasonable cost and available to the general public had very mixed reviews. Some people said they worked great, and others said they were horrible.

In the end, we decided to give the Piteba oil press a try. It only got 3.5 stars on Amazon, but many of the negative reviews didn't seem to really apply to our situation. Many people were complaining about how it didn't press olives for olive oil and such. It was an expensive risk, but one we thought worth it.

After using it for quite some time now, I can say that I am pretty happy with it. It can be difficult to get used to, and it certainly has its little idiosyncrasies, but all-in-all it works just fine. So, I figured I would make a video on how to use it to press sunflower oil.

The video ended up being way too long for a single video, so I split it up into two separate parts. Here is the first part on how to set up the press and some things you need to know about owning the press:

The second part is coming soon! In it, I will show you how to actually press the sunflower seed oil.

footer andrew.png

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @slhomestead to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

I like the idea of having this unit and appreciate the review but how much oil do you get out of 1lb of sunflower seeds? It says you need to use the oil within 2-3 days of pressing the oil, does it really go bad after 3 days? Any info would be greatly appreciated, and if I missed it in the video I am sorry, trying to watch with a 9 month old that is very busy!

Well, the conversion is about a gallon per 12 pounds of seeds. I mention it in the second part of the video, so you didn't miss anything. :) I was actually quite surprised at the conversion because you should be able to get around 4 gallons from a 50 lb bag of seed!

And it doesn't go bad that fast. It takes at least 2-3 days for the oil to settle and be ready to use. Should last a good while after that as it is a fat. It takes a lot of work (as you will see in the next video), so if you had to do it every 3 days, that might be a bit much. I have found that it takes about 30 minutes to get a pint of oil.

I would watch the second video and see what you think.

Thank you! Sounds good, I will be looking for it.

Y'all continually surprise me. I had no idea pressing your own oil was even possible. Thanks for adding to my 'tool kit'!

No problem! It is great to be a part of this community that is so willing to learn from each other.

What aunt deb said! Nice work might have to look into this ourselves!

It is very much worth it. I would say go for it! Just be aware that it does take some getting used to. But if you guys ever have any questions about it, feel free to ask - maybe I had the same issue!

I definitely will. Probably not something we will do anytime soon but it's interesting to say the least

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66425.17
ETH 3185.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63