French Onion Crock-Pot Chicken And Rice Recipe

in #food7 years ago

French Onion Crock-Pot Chicken And Rice


Today I had a lot of running to do and we really didn't have much in the house to choose from as far as food goes. Luckily I found a package of chicken tenderloins hiding in the back of the freezer. In the past few months I have made a couple different crock pot meals but I keep going back to crockpot buffalo chicken. It is just so good and I love the sandwiches it makes. But this time I wanted something a little different. I looked through the cupboard and ran some ideas through my head about how I thought things would taste and decided to go for it. In the past the ol' crockpot has served me well. It might not look that great, but trust me it tastes wonderful! Sorry for the poor photo quality, I currently have a samsung s4. Hopefully I will upgrade soon after a steem payout!

Maybe Healthier? Just Maybe.

I've been trying to cook more with chicken lately. My family has been eating mainly beef as our meat for the past few years. I am just a sucker for tacos and personally I believe they taste best with ground beef vs chicken or turkey. I am trying to get away from the ground beef so often and that has lead me to eating more crock pot meals.

So Simple, What Is Not To Love?

This is so easy! I am starting to love the crock pot. In my house I do all the cooking and although I generally enjoy having that responsibility and seeing the family enjoy what I prepared, sometimes I am just not in the mood to sit there and cook something for an hour, and that is what makes me love the crockpot. I seriously love these things and with a little bit of preparation you can have dinner ready for your family before you even get home from work.

Ingredients

  • 1.5 lbs of chicken breasts/tenderloins
  • 2 pouches french onion soup mix
  • 2 cups instant white/brown rice
  • 1 lb bag of frozen veg - I used green beans, peas, carrots, corn, and broccoli.
  • 8 cups of water
  • Salt/pepper and garlic to taste - careful with pepper, it shines through the onion quite strong.

Directions

  • Pour 8 cups of hot water into crockpot
  • mix in 2 packages of french onion soup and stir until all the seasonings are dissolved
  • put chicken in the crockpot
  • pour vegetables over the top
  • There should be plenty of liquid to cover this amount of vegetables, if not then you can add more. Alternatively, if you would like a stronger onion soup that is slightly more salty then you can go with less water than 8 cups. I would recommend about 6-7 cups to help infuse the veggies and rice with flavor.
  • Add rice in the last 10-15 minutes of cooking.
  • ENJOY!

Thank you for reading! Let me know if you try to recipe or if you do something similar. Have a great day!

Sort:  

Love chicken such a high protein meat that is versatile. This meal looks simple and delicious. Just the way I like my meals to be. Thanks for sharing. Will certainly be trying this one!

try it you will really like it...Hello jackie

Look like so good my friend @skyefox :)

it does not only look good ...it tastes good

It looks amazing, I will follow the steps to enjoy that delicious meal

U ar gifted man
Love to taste some

This sounds so good. I saved this page to be able to come back to later.

You got a 1.37% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @skyefox!

This post has received gratitude of 1.51 % from @appreciator thanks to: @skyefox.

This looks good and tasty.yummyscious ! Thanks for sharing

So what time is dinner??? :) thanks for posting (love the Pictures) - upvoted and following!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63525.38
ETH 2645.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76