Nomnom Experiences - Wonderful Mandarin Cuisine at New King in Amsterdam, The Netherlands

in #food6 years ago

Honestly, I think this is one of the best Chinese restaurants

New King is located on the Zeedijk, not too far from Nieuwmarkt and offers the mandarin cuisine. When you go up (yes, up) into the restaurant, it looks super small and you wonder why they never expanded. That is untill you are actually in the restaurants and you find two more floors which you can reach by going down the stairs again.

Source

A couple of days ago, I got to enjoy the wonderful flavors of New King and as usual, left with a stomach full and a happy belly. Due to me leaving on my world trip, the family decided to come together and eat. Because that is what we do and enjoy the most - food. Good food!

First of all, they do not take reservations. You have to get there in person to ask for a table, after which they will either place you or give you a time to come back. As we were with seven people, the latter happened to us. We arrived there at 5:30 PM, were supposed to get our table at 7 PM but 20 minutes later we got a call that a group had cancelled and we could get our table right away. Yay us!

Where are the nomnoms?

Right here! As we had to wait for my @samsalabim, we ordered some appetizers. I believe everybody absolutely loved these as we all had different dishes.

I ordered the Wonton soup, which is a soup with sorta dumplings with meat. The broth was wonderful as were the wontons itself.

Accompanied by several beers, we ordered our main course. This consisted of a bunch of dishes and varieties of rice and noodles.

Among them were Prawns in Hung Lak sauce. It was spicy but oh-so delicious.

Followed by Spareribs in Hung So style. Wondefully made. Also, the style and/or the sauce were both a pleasant surprise to me.

Squid with salt and pepper, which unfortunately I didn't try because I was digging my way through the ribs.

At last, we had a mixed meat dish which had Peking Duck, Babi Pangang and Cha Siew and one of my favourites since I was a kid.

I think I can say that this is one of my favourite restaurants in Amsterdam and I will be back here for sure.

divider

New King

Zeedijk 115-117

1012 AV Amsterdam

The Netherlands

www.newking.nl

Click on the image to go to Google Maps

!steemitworldmap 52.3733529 lat 4.8981638 long Mindblowing Mandarin Cuisine D3SCR

divider-long

Track your followers with SPECTACLES

divider

Sort:  

That shrimp dish looks delicious!

It definitely was!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=sjennon
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=nomnom-experiences-wonderful-mandarin-cuisine-at-new-king-in-amsterdam-the-netherlands


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

That Wonton soup looks super delicious! Yum!

It was so good. The broth was amazing. And I always love the dough stuff from the wonton too, hehe

I know right. Here in India, we have something called 'momos' which look similar to the wonton dough thing.
Momos are spicy, and I love spicy!

Yes, my friends mentioned those more than once. I also love samosas!

Oh yes! They make a great snack along with green chutney.
Man, I'm getting hungry now haha!

Ugh, me too! Haha!

The meat dish and the prawns look really yummy

It was really good! The prawns were quite spicy though!

@sjennon
That looks so delicious, does not help that I am hungry right now, need to get some. :-)

Hahaa I am sorry. But yes, you need to get this for sure!

Oh looks so delicious! The not taking reservation is a bummer though, if you are in Amsterdam for only couple of days you can't wait for so long.

It's just for the evening. So maybe max a hour of waiting. Mind you, we were also with a group so harder to get a table than with just two people.

Well then adding this to my list. Planning to visit Amsterdam in 2018

Whoopwhoop! That's my goal!

all the food looks so yummy @sjennon !

It was delicious!

My goodness, it all looks amazing! Absolutely delicious looking, and I barely even like Chinese food. If you go back anytime soon, bring back some more pics, maybe of the restaurant itself too! It looks like it has a really cool design. Love the Heineken pint glasses too, haha! Thanks for sharing this!

Good point. Next time I shall make sure to click some pictures from the place itself too!

Thanks for your kind words :d

I need wonton soup now!! 😩 i was actually going to bed but hungey again after seeing those pictures. When we visit amsterdam again we’ll surely stop there for a bite, so thanks for the tip!

Hehe, I am sorry! But yes, I recommend it for sure!

It looks amazing indeed !!!
Aaaaand now I'm hungry - thanks :P

Aaahha, I am sorry! Go get yourself some chinese!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57173.66
ETH 3067.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39