Nomnom Experiences - Time Out Market in Lisbon, Portugal

in #food7 years ago

Since basically the Behind SteemFest-series are over (because our work was too), we decided to explore the beautiful capital which hosted SteemFest to discover it's secret bits.

By recommendation of @foxxycat, @razvanelulmarin and @anyx we found ourselves on our way to the Time Out Market in a wonderfully cheap Uber.

Time Out Market Lisboa is a food hall located in the Mercado da Ribeira at Cais do Sodre in Lisbon, Portugal. It opened in May 2014, and is the first of several planned food hall ventures for Time Out. The Lisbon market has 35 kiosks selling regional specialities, such as Azeitão sheep's cheese, Alentejo ham, custard tarts from cafe Aloma, sardines, wines and chocolates. Five top chefs have restaurants here. The original fish, fruit and vegetable market stalls occupy the other half of the landmark building. - Wikipedia

And boy, did thát live up to it's expectations. The architecture of this building looks pretty modern, and the place is very vibrant with it's people and food stalls.

Oh, and surprisingly, they accepted card payments!

First, we decided to go for pizza - unfortunately no pictures since we were dying of hunger and well.. we wanted just to eat. We went for the Verdure and Zucchine pizza and oh-my-lord. It's as if an angel pisses on my tongue! (Don't know what that means? Make sure to check out my What Dutch People Say-series!

After ripping that pizza a part, @things craved for some noodles. So we headed out to the Asian stall in the market. When you access it from the inside, you just have a counter, but if you access it from the back, there are actually five seats as if you're sitting at a bar! Luckily, we found ourselves two seats and ordered vegetarian Chow Mein.

Slowly we started dying of full - however what is a visit to a Portuguese Food Market without making a stop at the place where they sell Pastel De Nata? Exactly.

We moved to the outside of the Market where the queue was way shorter than inside. Also, this allowed us to get a pee inside their kitchen. It was pretty cool to see how they made them!

I hope you guys enjoyed this as much as I did. If you ever find yourself in Lisbon, do not hesitate to check out this gem!


Time Out Market
Av. 24 de Julho 49
1200-109 Lisboa
Portugal

divider-long

Track your followers with SPECTACLES

divider

Sort:  

Nice post
Good travel my honey @sjennon 😍💕

I will always follower
and vote every post you
please upvote some of my posts, let me have more spirit in playing steemit

Gosh! Really nice meals u guys had..! I really wonder how amazing that pizza would have been.


Your post has been resteemed to my 2121 followers

Upvote this comment if you like this service

It was soooooo good! Thanks mate!

que rico me gusta tu post

Oh those pastel de nata... I think I had 5 during one coffee break at CCB :P
We have some veeery similar markets here in Copenhagen - funny. I didn't have time to go around that much...the first time in Lisbon either, since it was just a 22hour lay over basically... So, 3rd time is a charm I guess!! :)

At least 5! I also brought some back home - my mom was super happy with them!

Ooh cool! I bet shit is trice more expensive there though..

I just heard about the market when we arrived. And as big fans of food, @things and me just had to check it out!

delicious! ⚡️

Definitely!

already miss you and Lisbon! :*

Hope to visit you sometime in your bakery though!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63184.34
ETH 2560.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72