Nomnom Experiences - Buzz Buttons

in #food7 years ago

What is one of your most memorable foods?

I bet there are many, crazy or weird foods out there - but are they also fun?

Fun food? Oyes. I am talking about buzz buttons.

The Buzz Button goes by many names: Toothache plant, paracress, szechuan/sechuan button, tingflower and electric daisy. And it lives after it's name.

"A Szechuan button, also known as a buzz button or electric button, is a low-growing plant native to Brazil that blooms repeatedly summer through fall. The plant produces yellow/red gumdrop-sized flower buds that completely numb the mouth once bitten into." - Gina DeBacker


Source

"The flower ... tastes like a 9-volt battery. It’s electrifying and hits you on a molecular level. We’re talking nerve damage here, where your tongue and mouth actually go numb after an awkward salivating period. It’s absolutely horrible, but in a really terrific sort of way," - Graham Averill

I ate them!

My first encounter with the Buzz Buttons was in Chupitos, a shooter bar in Amsterdam. I used to go there quite often due to relatively cheap shooters (starting at 2,50 EUR) and the amount of fun you have when you order one of the crazy ones. Shots which require certain actions, have flames, interesting ingredients etc.

I simply went up and asked for a recommendation. We wanted fun shots that night, and that was what we got. If I remember correctly, we were told to chew on the button for 10 to 20 seconds and then take the shot.

While being quite tipsy, the experience becomes even more humorous. You start to chew on something that tastes like grass. My friends' faces were priceless because of the disappointing taste and no one knew what was so special about this.

That was until we took the shot.

Our mouths started tingling like crazy! After those 10/20 seconds, the buzz button start to take effect. In combination with taking a shot, your tipsy mind just gets blown. You end up standing there with your tongue out of your mouth like a dehydrated dog, crying out, "This is so weird, what?!"

Here's a video I ran into yesterday and inspired me to do this post, which you will give an impression of the effects!

It's a super fun addition to drinks or dishes, and if you ever get the chance to try it out - I definitely recommend it.


Sort:  

I love you funny and food post's,I like your story.Upvoted you
@zainbhatti

Thank you!

Alway welcome cute girl

so the answer to that is no. they look like the most metorite alien life form plant life i've ever seen. how the heck did fb catch me this morning to bring me here. arghghhgh i've been buzz bombed!! :)

Hahaha! It's super cool :D Maybe you should reconsider in the evening ;)

ok potentially. i won't rule it out ;)

Oh wow! That is super awesome!! Thanks for sharing :):)

Aah, thank you for resteeming!

That's an awesome product to try my friend! I've never seen or tasted before but seems so fun to add to some dishes!

Oh you should try it! They also use it in dishes! Maybe a cool addition to the sandwich contests!

It's a shame that we don't have it here in my country my friend! hahaha! It will surely be great in the sandwich contest, a super creative touch!

Maybe you can get it online somewhere! I have no idea where to get these honestly in my country either.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60752.39
ETH 2904.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73