About the time I made a microwave mug meal

in #food7 years ago (edited)

So! Recently my girlfriend found this YouTube channel from Gemma Stafford from biggerbolderbaking.com, and since then I've been watching her videos full of surprise. No way, it's actually tasty? You can put this shit in the microwave?

So, today I took bravery and courage with me to the kitchen as I found this Peanut Butter & Banana Mug Cake recipe.

I picked this one, since I had most ingredients in the house. Most. I was missing cinnamon, vanilla and baking powder. And oh, I didn't feel like dissecting an egg, so I just kept the yolk in there too.

While I was mixing up all the ingredients I actually had, I was texting her and kept her updated with my progress:

Me: IM SO EXCITED! OKAY WAIT.

Her: Hahahahahahahahah Jesus woman. Okay, go for it. Good luck! You need baking powder, vanilla and flour. Where will you get that?

Me: Idk, I am improvising.

Her: Wait wait. Add a lot of eggs if you don't have baking powder. Else it won't rise.

Me: I have flour. And I added one.

Her: Babe, it won't rise up without eggs. At least add one more egg then.

Me: Yes, okay. It's not as thick now anymore, though.

Her: Add a bit of flour. I hope it turns out good.

Me: Okay okay. It's going in. I am scared.

Her: Me too.

Me: Okay, it's going. I am waiting now. Hahaha, I am nervous, I'll die if it explodes.

Her: I really hope it doesn't explode.

Me: It did rise! I put it back in there cause it wasn't solid yet, though.

Her: Oh my gawwwwwwwwddddddddddddddd, it rose! Oh my goddddddddd.

Me: It's getting there.

Her: Yes, good, okay.

Me: AHAHAHHHAHAHHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHA
I screamed!
HAHAHAHAHAHHAAH
Well, okay. It did rise. All the way up to the ceiling of the microwave. I am dying.

Her: Holy fuck, are you serious?

Me: Yes, HAHA. Ok, let me try it.

Her: It's solid now, though?

Me: Ya! Okay, it's not bad.

Unfortunately, I didn't have my phone ready to make a picture when it decided to kiss the ceiling of my microwave. I literally screamed, opened the door and then it sank all the way back down.

Also, on a second note, it wasn't THAT tasty after all. Really thick and kinda squishy, so maybe I just should follow a recipe properly. Also, maybe I should've let it a little shorter in the microwave. The taste itself is okay, just the structure is kind of weird. Maybe it had something to with with the fact that my mug was effin' giant. HA, I am the best when it comes to following recipes.

I will definitely try this out again, and will try other recipes from Gemma too. Just to see what happens.


Sources:
http://www.biggerbolderbaking.com/peanut-butter-banana-mug-cake/

Sort:  

My wife and I used to make our children eat every meal out of a mug

Oo, what'd you make?

We told them it was grool, but it was mostly sawdust those youngsters couldn't tell the difference ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99