Mr. Gourmet - Dinner On Top Of The Mountains In Barcelona

in #food7 years ago



A few days ago, I already shared the beautiful Hotel we were staying in in Barcelona: Gran Hotel La Florida.

The Hotel is located at the top of the Tibidabo mountain, with a stunning view.

Of course, the Hotel doesn't only feature a large pool and a beautiful terrace, but also a restaurant!

You can sit at one of the tables beneath the parasols and string lights, looking over the city lights of Barcelona.



The Restaurant offered a mix of different cuisines - some Spanish dishes, some Western/European ones and some Asian ones.

While waiting for our food, we were enjoying the atmosphere and the stunning view over the city and its sparkling lights.



For starters, I ordered some homemade Nachos with Guacamole and Pico de Gallo.

As you can see, the Nachos were truly homemade and totally different than regular ones - the consistency was more thick and fluffy, and they were also much more flavorful than regular ones.
And of course, the Guacamole matched perfectly - the subtle Avocado flavor with a hint of lime, topped with tomatoes and onions - the perfect appetizer!


Next: Pasta!

I'm a big lover of pasta, it's something I could eat almost everyday.
The first one we tried was a classic Bolognese, and the 2nd one had a creamy coconut sauce.
The Bolognese was very flavourful, the meat was tender and the tomato sauce was very juicy and accompanied the noodles perfectly.
The 2nd pasta had green noodles, coconut cream, parmesan, and a hint of pesto. The taste was very subtle but nevertheless unique and delicious!



Lastly, I had a chicken curry - it may look ordinary, but it tasted incredible!

Although the curry sauce was a little mellow for my taste, the chicken is what made all the difference.
It may just have been the one of the juiciest and most tender pieces of chicken I've ever had!
The meat almost melted in your mouth, and then the combination with the mellow curry sauce and Basmati rice fit like a charm.


Let's move on to the desserts - the BEST part of the dinner!



The first thing that caught my attention from the dessert menu was a Mango Cheesecake.

I expected an actual piece of cheesecake, but what I got was a cheesecake in a jar.
The bottom consisted of crumbled up cookie pieces, then there was a layer of cheesecake cream, and some mango puree on top.
The mix between crunchy cookies, creamy cheesecake and fruity-sour mango was absolutely delicious!
The Mango Cheesecake was so good that we actually had to order two!


Next: A lemon meringue tarte!

I like lemon or lime pies because of the combination of sweet pastry and sour/fruity filling.
This lemon tarte had a crunchy bottom, then a delicious lemon cream, and topped with some meringue which was slightly crispy from the outside but soft and fluffy from the inside.


Last but not least, a typical Spanish dessert: Crema Catalana!

This is basically the Spanish version of a Creme Bruleé.
It's a vanilla pudding, topped with brown sugar which is then caramellized to form a solid crust.
I like the mix of different textures - creamy, mellow pudding and sweet, crispy sugar on top!



It was a delicious dinner with a perfect atmosphere and view over the city!

But there are still many more delicious Restaurants for Mr. Gourmet to try in Barcelona...

Until next time - cheers!






Want to get featured on my blog? Register for Steemit Promo

- Instagram -

- Steemit FB Group - 


© Sirwinchester


Sort:  

I love Barcelona! I've had the opportunity to go there twice. Keep enjoying life @sirwinchester

Thank you! Yes Barcelona is an awesome destination for any vacation!

The food looks awesome.

looks good!

Tasted even better! 😋

I was a little jelly and then i scrolled through your post and now im hungry 😣

Some nice food pics there!

Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it!

The environment is good.

Delicious are these special dishes of steemit

Thank you! Yes they tasted even better in real life!

Holy guacamole, you started my day right! UwU
Gimme them pastas!! :D

Hahaha, carbs for the win!

I am Foodie so i really loved your post, Keep sharing such content , I love Fooooooood. Ha Ha
Steemit Community has really made me upset today , I spent 3 hours writing this post and it dint even get any recognition . Why sometimes good content dont get any recognition.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@mysurrounding/draw-your-future-just-in-3-bold-steps-current-state-to-desired-new-reality

Delicious you are going Congratulations
I invite you to go through my blog may be to your liking, and I would appreciate your support
:)

Sure, thanks for your comment!

Homemade Nachos, thats dope.

They were awesome, I've never had Nachos like this before!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56182.86
ETH 2369.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30