Mr. Gourmet: Creamy & Delicious Pastel de Nata in Lisbon!

in #food6 years ago


"Creamy and Delicious" was the motto of SteemFest² this year.

And this is due to the location Lissabon and the world-famous portuguese custard tarts, the Pastel de Nata.
Everyone who has visited Portugal, and definitely everyone who attended SteemFest², knows how addictive these little egg tarts are!
@roelandp definitely made sure that we had plenty of Pastel de Nata during the creamy & delicious SteemFest, and Mr. Gourmet loved it 😋

So of course, Mr. Gourmet also had to try lots of original Pastel de Nata while in Lisbon!



History of Pastel de Nata

The flaky custard tarts were created at the end of the 17th century by catholic monks in Belém, close to Lisbon.
In the monastery, large amounts of egg whites were being used to starch the clothes, which is why they ended up with a lot of leftover egg yolk.

Since the monks were originally based in france where these pastries were sold in local patisseries, they used the ingredients they had to bake goods with the recipes they knew from home. This was quite a common practice.
Following the Liberal Revolution in 1820, many covents and monasteries were being closed down.

In an attempt to survive, monks from Belém then started selling the pastel de nata at a nearby sugar refinery.

When the monastery finally closed in 1834, the recipe was then sold to the sugar refinery, whose owners then opened the Fábrica de Pastéis de Belém.
This bakery is still famous until today - unfortunately I didn't make it there during my Lisbon trip because time just flew by, but I still visited a Fabrica de Nata which is specialized in these mouthwatering custard tarts!


Fabrica de Nata, Lisbon

We stumbled upon the Fabrica de Nata when we were wandering around the city center of Lisbon.
The sight of hundreds of golden Nata, and the tempting smell of freshly baked pastry drew in my inner Mr. Gourmet at once!

When you walk inside, you can see the Nata being freshly made on the left.

The employees were constantly busy preparing the dough, filling it with custard, baking the tarts, taking them out to cool, etc. Everything is handmade and yet they probably manage to produce several hundreds of Nata per hour!

img

img


The café is specialized in pastel de Nata - they also sell a small selection of sandwiches, but the focus is definitely on the Nata here!

Even the walls are decorated with pictures and information about the historic pastel de nata!

img

img


And now finally... the taste test!

Of course I've tried Pastel de Nata before - but this was the first time having some original Nata in Portugal.

👌 definitely approved by Mr. Gourmet!


The crunchy, flaky puff pastry, in combination with the lukewarm, sweet custard filling... this is heaven in a bite!

And let me tell you: having them freshly baked and still slightly warm also makes a big difference.
Pastel de Nata are now definitely being added to my favorite desserts - my inner Mr. Gourmet is already craving some more as I am writing a whole post about these pastries without being able to eat one!

I actually enjoyed these pastel de Nata so much that I bought some more from the Fabrica de Nata pretty much every other day while I was in Lisbon!

It was just too creamy & delicious!






Want to get featured on my blog? Register for Steemit Promo

- Instagram -

- Steemit FB Group - 


© Sirwinchester


Sort:  

I still sometimes dream about these little bad boys from when I visited Lisbon!

No wonder! Pastel de Nata are irresistable!

Its is really delicious!

Oh yes looks very delicious!
I want to visit Portugal especially Lisbon anyways so I have to try them :)

These are a 100% MUST if you ever visit portugal!

Steemit lunch

Exactly, I could have these for any meal of the day!

Pastel de Nata is delicious recipe as you present dear friend @sirwinchester ...

Omg my mouth is watery right know.... It was so good that I also took some with me on the flight back home.

I want some more now 🤤

I'm addicted! I would sell an arm for a Pastel de Nata !!

Hope you're doing well, my friend!!!

xxx
Elli

Well, these certainly look creamy and delicious! Thanks for sharing kind sir.

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 21. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $12.96 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 21 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

They look very rich, excellent post, I invite you to visit my blog, regards

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64266.51
ETH 3121.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.08