You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Making Homemade Cheese with just Milk, No citric, No Rennet......On the Homestead

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Wow, even I can do that. I live off grid, and sometimes I buy milk for something but cannot refrigerate it, as I have no electricity or running water and definitely not a fridge! And so I will find myself with a jug of what I thought was trash - separated milk. Goodness, i've been throwing away the first half of your process for years now! Won't do that again. Just got to figure out where to buy some cheesecloth!

Sort:  

You can buy it Anywhere, check Walmart in the pickling section. Drug stores etc.

Awesome thanks! This is cool! I love cheese! And I love my homesteading, but as a non-cooking dude who is capable of staying alive on rocks and sticks, I don't know "the finer points" of kitchen stuff at all! Today was a very useful lesson for me on this post!

you can literally pour the milk forget it for hours, strain it, hang it for a few more hours and BAM you have cheese.

This is magical to me. Wow.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69624.90
ETH 3615.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73