You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 💖💖💖I Love Hummus - Awesome Authentic Hummus recipe inside

in #food7 years ago

I love hummus, but nothing compares to homemade one.

When I lived in France, it was difficult - almost impossible - to find tahina. We bought it when we visited the Jewish quarters in Paris.

Then I would make hummus, which was another thing that was hard to find in France.

The recipe said I should cook the chickpeas for an hour, but at one time, while we had guests and we went for a long walk, I'd forgotten to turn off the heat, so they cooked two hours.

To my surprise, they were much better.

I'm definitely going to test your recipe. I haven't tried using baking soda while preparing the hummus before.

Sort:  

Yeah Hummus is awesome... and usually a homemade one is way better (unless you live in Israel ;) ).

Regarding the cooking, you are right...you need to get a very fresh chickpeas to be able to finish cooking it in an hours or so, if the seed been laying around for a while (a harvest from a previous year) then it often takes 2 or even 3 hours to get fully cooked.
Adding baking soda helps to shorten the process though...without much effect on the taste.

Awesome you going to try the recipe, you are not going to regret ;)

Let me know how it worked out...and send some photos :)

Thanks for taking the time to comment! I appreciate it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58251.65
ETH 2369.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37