When face met paint

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Wednesday Hump Day Fun

1CFF5B7C-CCD5-49B0-9147-2C021EF7E5AA.jpeg

Today is midweek. Yay!!! I had a half day at work and headed straight home to the fam bam. My 4 year old daughter likes to come up with activities for the day. She requested face painting.

So facepainting it is...

Let me share a quick fact with you guys. My children love this place called “Chuck E Cheese”. It’s a family entertainment center/restaurant where families can play games, have fun, win prizes and eat! Their pizzas are pretty good and they have a good variety salad bar. I believe just last year they started to serve beer. I was kind of in shock, but hey, it’s not my business. Anyways, we’ve celebrate the kids birthdays there several times already. This is what the place looks like:

A09912C5-15CD-4141-87D4-64A40A032661.jpeg

The top picture is Chuck E. That is who my daughter wanted on her face. This is how it turned out:

FC69D2BB-0893-4E0D-B7B9-4A2550D69BD1.jpeg

She loved it and wore it all day. I was pretty amazed at how similar it came out to the pic. I was pretty proud of myself. But the best part was that my child was happy. I couldn’t take her seriously all day but I got a good laugh out of it. Not at my girl, but the facepainting.

81F11568-1D8C-458D-BA12-F117F780AAB1.jpeg

After that was done, it was time to make dinner. I cooked up two dishes because one is just not enough. It may seem a lot of work but it’s better that way, so that we have left overs for the next day and I don’t have to cook. To be honest. I’m not the best cook but I think my cooking is average. What’s important is my family likes it. I think? !

In fact, my mom was an amazing cook. She would always cook for our family parties. I mean she would throw down a feast. Unfortunately, not all the skills were passed down. I would watch her work in the kitchen and just be in awe. Cooking is her work of art. When I even attempt to help, I would get in trouble because I’m cutting up the vegetables the wrong way or I’m working too slow.

Now as a mom, I have to prepare meals. I didn’t realize how hard it actually is until I had to do it. I’m not going to lie. There are days where I just order food because I don’t know what or have time to cook. But that was never the case with my mom, she always had it all set.

In any which case, the dishes I made were Filipino dishes called “Chicken Tinola & Beef Giniling”. These two dishes are a few of my favorites. My mom never left any of her recipes. Actually she didn’t have any written down. They were all in her memory cookbook. So, when I make these dishes it’s close to my heart because it tastes just like how she would make it.

CHICKEN TINOLA

7D1590A1-EC53-4D91-A4BE-3DB3946417F1.jpeg

Ingredients are as shown on image. Fish sauce is optional. Personally I don’t use it. I add salt as needed.

BEEF GINILING

47D5CA3B-720F-4624-A6B3-1AEF80567016.jpeg

Ingredients are as shown on image. Also, potatoes are optional.

There you have it. Dinner was a success. After a full stomach I just wanted to knock out. But we all know that’s not allowed. I don’t want to have digestion or acid reflux issues.

That's it for me. I hope you all enjoyed. Please tune in for the next blog by following me. Thanks steemians!
~Keep It Simple~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63645.37
ETH 3067.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81