Blue Apron Day 3 Review

in #food7 years ago

Day three was Seared Chicken in Tomatillo Sauce with sweet corn and rice.

IMG_20170717_190833.jpg

Once again, Blue Apron did not let me down with the taste of this delicious meal.

IMG_20170717_175923.jpg

The most interesting part of this dish was the rice. Once cooked I was instructed to add vinegar, sugar and raisins. I had never had rice like this before and thought it tasted really yummy!

I think a chicken dish was a perfect way to wrap up our third night of Blue Apron. Day one was steak and day two was shrimp, chicken for day three made it full circle.

So is Blue Apron worth it?

Pros:

  • I loved not having to think about what recipe I wanted to cook for dinner
  • Having all the ingredients sent to my doorstep instead of making a list and running around the grocery store like a chicken with it's head chopped off was wonderful
  • All produce was farm fresh and I could tell the difference between BA produce and what I typically buy at the grocery store

Cons:

  • This could be a pro depending on your preference but the portion sizes we're a little too perfect. We never had any leftovers. I like cooking big meals so we are able to eat off them for a few days and with Blue Apron you are given just enough for dinner that night.
  • All recipes are labor intensive which again could be something you may not mind. But I don't always want to be slicing and dicing waiting for this pot over here to boil and waiting for this or that in the oven to bake. Some nights I want simplicity
  • The cost. For three meals a week it's $9.99/per person and for my two person household it would total out to $59.94/per week. To some that may not be steep but I can spend less than for three meals a day for a full 7 days.

I think food delivery services are innovative and trendy. This won't be something we order regularly, but I could see us ordering for those times when life gets too busy to meal plan.

If you haven't tried Blue Apron, I recommend giving it a shot and seeing if it is worthwhile for your household.

Have you tried a food delivery service? Let me know what you thought.

-Simkat

Sort:  

Looks tasty!

Thanks, girl!

Congratulations @simkat! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
_Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @simkat! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64733.60
ETH 3170.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16