The Scenic Route--Egg Tarts with the Power to Change Lives, Macau

in #food6 years ago

Hello Steemians! (and before you even ask, YES, they were that damn good).

If only I had spent the time to actually capture some decent images of these beauties. Alas, I was consumed by the ecstasy that began taking control of my body and mind with each successive bite. Before going too deep into my irrational, somewhat worrying love poems written for Macau's egg tarts, lets rewind to the beginning.

Macau has always intrigued me. While I knew the Portuguese empire was fundamentally different than its European counterparts, partly as a result of its early and less-centralized establishment, I had never been to an area where I could see its lasting effects. Macau always seemed to be overlooked or overshadowed by its bigger, more influential former colonial territory Hong Kong. The decision to visit was made much easier after seeing some dirt-cheap plane tickets.

While I mainly wanted to explore the city and its unique architecture and culture, a friend who had gone earlier in the year mentioned egg tarts and how he had never tried anything like them. I didn't pay much mind to his comments, as pastries never stirred my appetite as much as savory or salty snacks. Pushing thoughts of gourmet egg tarts to the back of my mind, I continued with my plans to see specific attractions, while leaving the remainder of my stay for aimless exploring and relaxing.

My flight landed in the evening and by the time I reached my hotel it was well after dinner. I immediately dropped my bag off in my room, took my camera, and walked to the Ruins of St. Paul's. The city illuminates the remaining facade at night with a variety of colors, but most of the time utilizes standard lights.

The best/most scenic route to reach St. Paul's is the wonderfully preserved Senado Square, a beautiful public space with patterned tiles, fountains, centuries-old Portuguese architecture, and relaxing locals.

The scene is just as striking at night, when rows of lights that have been draped between the buildings illuminate the path towards Macau's famous cathedrals. One of the most striking parts of Senado, and the city of Macau generally, is the contrast between ancient Portuguese and more modern Chinese-style architecture. Macau's culture is also especially unique, amalgamating Portuguese, Macanese, and Chinese culture into a surreal yet wonderful cornucopia of music, food, and lifestyles.

It was not until trying some local cuisine (that was delicious by the way) that the egg tarts leapt to the front of my mind. Lord Stowe's was the name of the bakery I sought, and Lord Stowe's was the only bakery I would accept.

As it turns out, the original bakery was located on the southern island in Coloane Village. Some friends I had made the first night I arrived in Macau agreed to take me there (I cant thank them enough, their kindness and willingness to act as my guides is something I will never forget). One 40min bus ride later, and there I was, standing before the light blue walls of the original Lord Stowe’s.

You could smell the freshly baked egg tarts as you approached the building. BUT WAIT, YOU ARE SOLD OUT OF EGG TARTS?!?! I was crushed to discover this horrifying tragedy. I was in luck though, because they had another bakery just down the street with a café attached to it. Hurrying over so as not to risk them selling out or shutting down the ovens at the second location, I was delighted to discover that I had got the last box!!! :D

One egg tart, a dash of cinnamon to perfect the pastry, and one gin & tonic made that the single best day of my trip in Macau. The pipping-hot custard, the flaky buttery crust, the ice-cold gin & tonic that soothed my burnt tongue. It was sublime. It was life-changing.

The downside of all this of course is that I don’t live in Macau, and can now only daydream from time to time, wondering when I can get another taste of those golden cups of enlightenment. Someday. Someday.

(Most of these images were not edited and some were even taken with my old iphone. Didn't feel as inspired to edit these for some reason, maybe because photography ended up taking a backseat to leisure this trip.)

Sort:  

Egg tarts also aren't my thing, but these look amazeballs. Hold the gin; I'll have mine with a Tsingtao beer :)

You have been scouted by @promo-mentors. We are a community of new and veteran Steemians and we are always on the look out for promising authors.

I would like to invite you to our discord group https://discord.gg/vDPAFqb.

When you are there send me a message if you get lost! (My Discord name is the same as here on Steemit)




What is the concept/purpose of this group?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60189.57
ETH 3204.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44