Spicy Food Party Yakiniku!

in #food7 years ago

Or better known as @shello versus spicy food. I really can't handle anything more than pepper most days, but over the past year I've been finding myself in the midst of flavors I've come to love like sriracha (Thailand), hot mustard (China), and gochujang (Korea). Everything that'll leave my mouth watering, mostly, gasping for air. Honolulu has some of the strangest and interesting culture for fusion foods, and today we went out for one of my favorite cuisines... Yakiniku, or "the cook your own meat place".


You will learn a bunch about food today :D

cooking time.jpg

The place we went to is called Gyu-Kaku which has restaurants in many countries, all over the world. This is not a restaurant review! Today I will talk about the different kinds of spicy foods we ate, and what I think they taste like.


spicy cold tofu.jpg

First up! Spicy Cold Tofu

I don't order cold tofu ever when I am out, my boyfriend knows this, and also knows my fear of pooping fire later. He still ordered this item. On the bed of tofu is a chili oil sauce with something crunchy in it, and it tasted like a hint of spice. That sauce reminds me a lot of the spicy condiment I see in Pho restaurants that you can put in your soup. It tasted savory, with only a little bit of a kick. Just because something is red, doesn't mean it's hot!

The kimchee on top was the spiciest part, but the tofu I felt really absorbed the heat and helped to distribute it properly. Green onions always make a nice garnish!


porktoro.jpg

Pork Toro (not spicy)

So "toro" is like the fatty part of the meat, usually by the cheek or belly depending on the animal. In sushi, there is different grades for things like tuna called; "chu toro" (medium fatty), and "o toro" (big fatty). The fat is regarded as the best part of the meat. When cooked, the pork was more chewy than it was tender.


double order beef toro.jpg

Double Order Beef Toro (not spicy)

As you can tell, beef is where it's at. After eating this, I am thinking to myself that pork is generally tougher than beef unless shredded. The beef toro cooked easily, and melted as soon as it touched my mouth!


miso shabu beef.jpg

Second Contender: Miso Shabu Beef

Shabu meat is thinly sliced so it cooks faster. The word "shabu shabu" is the sound effect or onomatopoeia for the sound of meat being sloshed side to side in a hot pot, or when dipping it in a sauce. Jake always says it out loud when he makes the hand gestures!

This wasn't as spicy as I thought it would be, as Korean miso is thicker and more sweet than Japanese miso paste. I place the sauce closer to a tangy teriyaki if anything. When the beef was cooked, it was soft and savory. I lucked out, and my taste buds survived!


jjigae.jpg

WHY SO SPICY? Kimchee Jjigae

I've made a grave mistake. This Korean dish is a kimchee stew pronounced; chi-gay, and the cabbage is cooked so long that the vegetables almost become a mush of seizure inducing greatness. It came out still boiling, and there was an egg inside!

I made the error of thinking that it would taste similar to my favorite Korean soup called soondubu, which is a soft tofu soup. They are both red, and have tofu inside. Same? No way, and the burning in my face only sealed the deal.

Soondubu is far more savory as a dish, and uses dashi (fish seasoning) in the broth to bring out a more well-rounded flavor. Closer to a soup than a stew, it is common to have oysters, octopus, and other sea creatures inside. What I ordered instead was jjigae, which was thick, burning with heat, and had beef in it.


Sometimes when a food is red, it can burn holes in your soul.


front of jar.jpg

We Went Shopping!

The flavor on the spicy tofu was really good, but since I was trying not to spontaneously combust, I didn't see my boyfriend ask the waitress where to get the sauce. One thing I realized today, is that some of our grocery stores in Hawaii differ a lot from others in the US. We went to the grocery outlet called; Don Quiote to seek it out. More affectionately known in Japan as Donki, this super-chain is like a Japanese Walmart that sells everything! There is three stores in Honolulu, so almost any type of cooking ingredient from Asia we can pick up without too much trouble!

oh thats what it says.jpg

It took us half an hour to find this obscure ingredient. Chili oil with fried garlic, is my new favorite junk food. I'm gonna put this in my ramen! I really am scared of spicy foods, but what I've come to learn is that there isn't such a thing as a person who doesn't eat hot dishes, they just don't know what kind of spice they like yet.



BANNER_THE_PROJECT.png

Sort:  

This all looks so, so amazing!

Thankies @solarsupermama,

It really was, since I live somewhere that I can chose something different everyday, I've learned to enjoy the little extra exploration c:

Love,
@shello

It's one of a very few things I miss about living in the us, but I have really honed my cooking skills, though. There are limits, though.

I have a microwave and a hotplate. My limits are sealed for the time being xD

Yikes! It's bringing up mama instinct! At least you have badass restaurants.

Makes it so hard to choose where to eat though!

I’m mouthwatering right now hahaha. But sad to say, I’m not into a spicy food. :(

Heya @jcleff,

yeah just trying to write this post left me very hungry xD I also used to think I didn't like spicy at all, try more foods! You may actually find one that you like~☆

With love,
@shello

Oh yum ^^ Chili oil with garlic could be awesome :O I think I could try doing something like that at home.. maybe not the same, but chili and garlic are good for anything!

Mhmm, I think homemade would definitely beat out store bought! :D An unlikely but great combo for sure, fried garlic sounds more dangerous than potato chips!

They all look really delicious! Yummy! Great post. :)

Thank you so much @firewpower,

It gets really hard to not over eat myself into a belly ache sometimes xD

<3 @shello

You are welcome. :)
It gets really hard to not over eat myself into a belly ache sometimes xD
I know the feeling. ;)

焼肉!美味しそうです
yakiniku! it looks delicious!

美味しかった!焼肉は私の大好物です c:
It was delicious! Yakiniku is my favorite

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67958.74
ETH 3273.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65