BREAK FAST IRISH MOSS SORREL GINGER & PRICKLY PEAR SMOOTHIE

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Hi rise and shine how are we all doing this glorious morning? I guess we have seen lots of beautiful breakfast smoothies’ posted here on Steemit. Why would I post another smoothie story you may ask, I guess that I really love the combination of the mighty sea vegetable in my break fast and the benefits that Irish moss brings to my health daily. Irish moss it nutritious and mineral dense, Irish moss has 15 of the 18 essential nutrients that make up our bodies. These nutrients include vitamins A, D, E, F and K. It is also a great source of iodine, potassium, sulphur, and calcium. I never measure any of my recipes when I am cooking or making natural juices, I was taught that cooking is done with your tongue, eyes, nose ears and heart to create food from the soul my grandmother always said this to my mother. So please be patient with me as I create recipes with measurements. I would add that if you try any of the recipes I post you should get the ingredients listed and have fun with tailoring the recipes to suit your own taste buds or dietary needs.

INGREDIENTS

• Irish moss 25g
• Whole Pomegranate
• Strawberries 50g
• Sorrel 15g
• Ginger root 5g
• whole Prickly Pear
• Baobab powder 15g
• Plums de-seed3
• Apricots de-seed2
• Barley/Wheat grass optional 5g

METHOD

Wash all fruits I soak and wash my fruits in 3% H202 food grade to kill bacteria and neutralize chemicals. If you don’t have food grade H202 to remove chemicals and pesticides pure white vinegar or salt a can be used as an alternative. A 10% salt solution appears to work as good as or better than full-strength vinegar. To make a 10% salt solution, you just have to mix up about one-part salt to nine-part water (though make sure to rinse all of the salt off before eating!).

  1. Wash Irish moss to clean excess salt and any debris.
  2. Soak the Irish moss in spring water or distilled water for a few hours the Irish moss it will expand and become like a gel.
  3. Get a saucepan and then add the Irish moss and the gel like water into the saucepan on a low heat
  4. Add Sorrel and ginger to the Irish moss and let it simmer for 10 – 15 mins.
  5. Put your fruits into the blender.
  6. Pour the Irish moss into the blender with the fruits.
  7. Add Baobab powder to the blender, you can also add your Barley/Wheat grass at this point optional.

*.Blend your Irish moss and fruits for 3 minutes until blended.
*. Pour into glasses and drink.
My break- fast smoothie keeps me full for at least 3 hours before my next meal. It’s like a food due to all the vitamins and minerals packed in all the wonderful ingredients used. Let me know what your healthy break-fast is, and how it benefits your health by leaving a comment after this post.
Upvote, resteem and follow me, for more vegan recipes, natural body products, creativity and living life with love. Have a steeming weekend all.

Sort:  

Wow! I have used Irish moss as a clarifying agent in home-brewed beer for more than 35 years & I never knew that people actually use it in cooking, very interesting! I love smoothies BTW. THX for the great post! 7-3's!

@kane1369 yes my mother has been making natural juices with it since I was a kid because it has 15 of the 18 nutrients that make up our body. I not sure about how you use it as a clarifying agent in home-brewed beer but I will now research to see how that process works thanks.

It's simple to use: during about about the last ten-fifteen minutes of cooking your brew you stir it in. Home-brewed beer tends to have a "haze" to it, one can't see through it ( assuming it's light enough in color to see through, not a stout) & Irish moss removes that. You don't use very much, about a tablespoon for five gallons of beer. 7-3's!

Wow I didn't know that it sounds really cool I will pass that to a friend of mine who likes brewing beers and wines dopeness thank you.

This sounds so tasty - and very different. Upvoted and resteemed :)

It really is @healingherb do try it it works a treat thanks for the support appreciate it.

Looks like a great smoothie. A lot of the ingredients are things I never tried before

Man I tell you the light is always on. I just recently heard about this Irish Moss researching somethings concerning how to eliminate the over abundance of inflammation within the body. And I'll admit I had the same first response like I did with asparagus and artichoke..well you know thinking only a particular "kind" of species took part in eating such foreign things..then after tasting it I'm hooked. This too I look forward to trying. My mother was actually the one who put it out there to the universe less then a week ago about something that would assist her along this journey of inner rejuvenation. Irish Moss came up but due to a false current state of being, she needed another set of eyes to do a little further research. And here it is you sharing this scrumptious looking smoothie. It is nice to see a familiar face bring this up..I take it as confirmation...this Irish Moss is Boss

Straight like that Irish moss has 15 of the 18 essential nutrients that make up our bodies. These nutrients include vitamins A, D, E, F and K. It is also a great source of iodine, potassium, sulphur, and calcium. Purchase only organic Irish moss unless your in the Caribbean, Africa or I think place closer to the Atlantic ocean where you find it fresh from the ocean. Sea moss has been used to remove radiation poisoning from the body, and to sooth inflamed tissue in the digestive tract. Sea moss is also an excellent natural source of iodine. If your mum has a particular issues she may need to to do a juice fast and the Irish moss will definitely support her needs if she can do a 3 day fast with fluids and alkaline vegetables boiled omit any flesh for those 3 days and see how she feels if their is improvement, she should try to stop eating red meats if she does, eat fish and try another fast in a few months. The aim for her should be to detox all toxins and mucus from her system and getting her body in an balanced state more alkaline than acid diet is a start. love n light sistar glad to be a help. Thanks for the SBD appreciated.

Much love.. I will be keeping in touch as well as passing this info along.

@sheapureness I like your submit. I have followed you.

Thanks for the support @juninalethia nice name sistar.

Came through to show some love. How is that irish moss though? Why does it sound like it already doesn't taste good. Smoothie looks delicious though.

@geechidan this smoothie taste beautiful, it taste like a sorbet, with yogurt trust me try it and see lol how you doing? I can't drink no smoothie from the road not rich as the ones that I make at home.

Congratulations @sheapureness! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This looks great, I'm going to have to find the Irish moss and make this! I don't cook or prepare anything
With recipes either unless I'm baking then I'll pay close attention lol!😃

I'm the same unless I'm baking a cake, bread or pastry no measuring my mum calls it cooking from the soul. Do try it out @clove71 it's so good for your body as it's packed with 15 of 18 essential nutrients that make up our bodies get organic thanks for stopping by.

Awesome I will! Thanks! 😃

Great recipe. Bless up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64689.90
ETH 3450.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50