Steemit Exclusive! Cauliflower "Ground Beef" Tacos for NATIONAL TACO DAY!! (gluten free and vegan)

in #food8 years ago

Let's celebrate TACO DAY together with these dangerously delicious vegan tacos. You'll be surprised how flavorful cauliflower can really be with the right seasonings.


Cauliflower "Ground Beef" Tacos for National Taco DayPrep time: 5-8 minutes
Cook time: 20-25 minutes
Total Time: 25-33 minutes

Ingredients

1 head cauliflower (organic preferred)
1/3 cup extra virgin coconut or olive oil
1 Tbs fresh, minced garlic
1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
1/4 cup purified water
2 tsp. smoked paprika
1 tsp. chipotle chili powder
1 tsp. cumin
salt and pepper to taste
Corn tortillas
Optional toppings: shredded lettuce, avocado, bell pepper, tomato, salsa

Directions

  1. Cut cauliflower florets from main parts of the stem and add to a food processor. Pulse until the pieces are "riced." (They should be cut into very small pieces, no bigger than a grain of rice.) Set aside.
  2. Bring a large pan up to medium heat on the stove. Add 1/3 cup oil and allow to come to heat.
  3. Carefully add garlic and allow to brown slightly. Add paprika, chipotle chili powder, cumin, salt, and pepper, then stir around to combine. Let the spices simmer in the oil for about 30 seconds, constantly stirring so they don't burn.
  4. Finally, add the riced cauliflower, lemon juice, and water, then stir to combine. The mixture will need to simmer (uncovered) for approximately 20 minutes. Stir every few minutes so it cooks evenly.
  5. Once the cauliflower is thoroughly cooked, add your "ground beef" to corn tortillas and top with lettuce, avocado, salsa, or any of your favorite toppings!

Tacos are probably my favorite food in the entire world, so Taco Day is really the best "holiday" ever. Although, you never reeeeeeally need an excuse to eat tacos. Amiright? 😋 Don't forget to follow me for more fun recipes! Or, you know, if you also have a taco obsession. Ay! Ay! Ay! Ay!

P.S.
Taco Cat spelled backwards is Taco Cat. Carry on.

Sort:  

Mmmmmm mmmmmm mmmmmm this looks sooooo good! I have never thought to use cauliflower in this way and I really must as I don't eat meat anymore. Thanks for the recipe, and great photos as always!

Thank you!! I know, right? I was never a fan of cauliflower, but now I love to use it for buffalo "wings" and these tacos!! It's so versatile! :)

Ñam ñam... Buen provecho! I'll have to remember this recipe next time I see some cauliflower in the market.

If you get your produce from a farmer's market, I'm sure this will taste even better! No store can beat local fruits and vegetables. :)

YUM! I wrote about tacos today too! But not only about tacos. I agree with you though. Tacos are the BEST! :)

You can say that again! ;)

Yum! I NEED you to make these for me.

Round two, sounds good to me! And how about the cashew cream sauce on them?

I love cauliflower rice and tacos. Perfect combination. Thanks for sharing!

Cauliflower is so versatile, isn't it?

Yum!! Move to Australia and give me some of this! :)

We've always wanted to visit!! If I can get over my fear of those hamster-sized roaches you mentioned, we can totally get together and make some tacos. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60482.94
ETH 2613.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63