Have you met Quinoa's cousin, Kañiwa? (The mysterious superfood)

in #food8 years ago

Quinoa’s not the only powerhouse in town. This little grain is half the size but contains even more health benefits.

Awesome, right? I discovered kañiwa about two years ago and it’s a nice change of pace from other gluten free grains. When cooked, it has a bit more texture and flavor. I find this creates an opportunity to play with different flavor profiles and recipes.

Origin

Not surprisingly, both kañiwa and quinoa come from similar origins. Both are from South America, though kañiwa is specifically cultivated in the Andes mountains of Bolivia and Peru. It is actually considered a seed because it is gathered from the flowering plant, goosefoot.
(source)


(source)


Nutrition

This is my favorite part. Kañiwa has SO many great health benefits for its adorably tiny size. It’s like they say, big things can come in small packages. A few notable nutrition facts:

  • Packed with more protein, iron, and fiber than quinoa
  • With all nine essential amino acids, it’s a complete protein, just like quinoa.
  • ½ cup serving has seven grams of protein
  • Thought to be the best gluten free grain-like substitute for wheat
  • Mineral-rich: iron, zinc, calcium
  • Great source of antioxidants (those lower risk of chronic conditions and heart disease)
  • Speaking of antioxidants, hooray for flavonoids! Kañiwa is particularly high in the antioxidants called “flavonoids,” which are anti-aging for the skin, inhibit certain bacteria and virus growth, and lower the risk of inflammatory diseases.

(source: 1, 2, 3)



(source)

How to Cook

Like quinoa, kañiwa requires two cups of water for every cup of the grain. The method is similar as well. Bring a pot of water to boiling on the stove. Add the kañiwa, reduce to a simmer, and cook for 15-20 minutes (or until all the water has disappeared.)

Fun fact: kañiwa doesn’t require rinsing before cooking like quinoa does! Yay, time saver!


Where do I get it?

After discovering it at Sprouts the first time, they only carried it in the bulk section for a few more months. Now, I prefer to get it online because it’s more reasonably priced than in the packages at health food stores. I recommend buying organic only.


Versatility

Did I say the nutrition was my favorite part? Wellllll, cooking with kañiwa might actually tie. Like I mentioned, it has a more complex flavor profile than other gluten free grains (like brown rice or quinoa) so you can get so much more playful in how you cook with it.

  • Try it in sweet dishes for added richness and texture. I find it goes well with cinnamon, nutmeg, and honey.
  • Kañiwa and citrus play really well together. Lemon makes an appearance in almost every dish I make, so I found out quickly that the deep nuttiness of kañiwa balances nicely with tangy flavor. Additionally, sweet citrus like orange and grapefruit also go nicely. I like incorporating those flavors into vinaigrettes or other dressings.
  • Smoky flavors amp up the distinguishing flavor notes of kañiwa, but in moderate amounts. A bit of BBQ sauce or smoked paprika work wonders.
  • Texture! Unlike quinoa, kañiwa maintains more of a noticeable graininess. I consider this a “plus” because sometimes in gluten free & vegan cooking, grains and vegetables become the same texture which can get boring. Adding kañiwa breaks up the monotony.
  • Finally, kañiwa is versatile enough to be used in baking. That’s right, you can throw cooked quinoa into pancakes, muffins, or other baked goods to add more nutrients. (There tons of quinoa recipes out there which you can substitute kañiwa, though there are a few gems that already call for it.)


Hope this helps you enjoy this small, but mighty superfood. I’m sure you’ll love it! If you enjoyed this article, don’t forget to follow me for more goodies!

Sort:  

I'm obsessed with the kaniwa plant; it's hard to believe it comes in so many unique bright colors!

Bright colors are my JAM. ;)

Ooh, I will have to try this! I use quinoa a lot in cooking & baking, and it's a good one to mix with fruit/veg and yoghurt for baby food. I've never heard of kañiwa before though, so thanks for making me aware of it! I like the fact it's extra nutritious

Woww I love what you did here - it just looks amazingly delicious @sharingeverybite

I also love to cook for family and friends - would love you to check out my treats @michelnilles and tell me which one you love best - thank you and keep up the amazing work you do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59185.02
ETH 2522.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47