Bread

in #food8 years ago

Is it sad or weird that I can make bread, good bread, without looking at a recipe? I mean truly I can make bread from scratch straight from my head. It is a basic recipe I've used for years. I got it out of my Bible, the Good Housekeeping illustrated cookbook. I've modified it a bit but my bread always turns out great. Today I'm using my bread to make fry-bread for dinner. Don't ask what I'll have with it, ain't crossed that bridge yet. And the fry-bread ain't what you'll find at an Indian taco stand. I use my bread recipe for loaf bread, rolls, hamburger buns, pizza crust and I even did bread bowls with it once. But I do make the dough from scratch. It takes about 6 cups of flour (I only measure the first 2), some yeast, salt, sugar, milk and butter. Mix it all up, add flour and knead till it's smooth. My hands till me when it's done, the dough don't stick to them. Let it rise for an hour then make something with it. Loaf, rolls and buns get shaped and let rise again. Fry and crust get used after the first rise. I figure if I can make bread I won't starve.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56248.57
ETH 2324.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34