You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Troubleshooting a bread. Rozwiązywanie problemów z chlebem [EN/PL]

in #food6 years ago

This is very interesting. I haven't tried using a sourdough starter yet, but I am enjoying experimenting. I made a rye loaf last week (50% rye flour, 50% strong white flour). It looked very pretty, but didn't rise very much. I will try it in a tin next time. Interesting about the hydration, I haven't tried changing the proportions of water and flour. I read your post about measuring everything but I must admit I am quite slapdash about it 😎.

Sort:  

The bread was beautiful!
It didn't rise most likely due to two reasons : 65% hydration and 50% content of a wholemeal rye flour which isn't easy to raise. I've read in a book once that there should be some sourdough involved if they're is more than 30% rye flour, but I'm not sure how true this is as the book itself was rather poor quality. But still, adding a bit of prefermented rye dough in place of some rye flour could give some change, for instance Detmold method uses 80% or so sourdough in the final dough.

Oh, and the measuring doesn't matter that much most of the time, so don't worry :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60935.93
ETH 2645.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56