RAD[V]ISH[ING] Summer Salad Recipe by @shalala

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Beat the summer heat with this delicious radish salad.

The mighty red radish has not always been a part of my grocery list. In fact, it is a taste that I had acquired through the years of eating late night tacos by the road side.
When you spend a good amount of time in Southern California, in time street tacos will somehow find a way to your heart. And the little red radishes and pickled veggies that usually come with your tacos? Well, those too, become so familiar to your taste buds, that their absence becomes known after a long hiatus. As such, because I've been following a low carb/ketogenic way of eating (*more on this on another post), in lieu of frequenting taco trucks, my time has been spent experimenting in the kitchen.

As the summer heat rises, the craving for the old familiar radish also escalated. With that said, here is my take on a radish salad:

The beauty of this salad is it's versatility, and simplicity. It takes about 20 minutes to prepare, and once you've sliced and diced your ingredients, and just a matter of tossing it all together. The main three ingredients for this salad are radish, cucumbers, and cilantro|coriander.



Ingredients:
2 cups of red radishes
2 cups of cucumber
1/2 bunch of cilantro/coriander
1/2 bunch of mint leaves
1/2 of a shallot (finely diced)
1 clove of minced garlic (optional)
2 cups of mini grape tomatoes (sliced in half)
1/2 cup of creamy feta cheese (I use French or Bulgarian feta)
2 tablespoons of olive oil
2 tablespoons of champagne vinegar
2 tablespoons of pumpkin seeds
1 tablespoon of pepper
Salt to taste


After thoroughly rinsing your vegetables, thinly slice up the radishes and cucumbers. I like to use a mandolin, because I'm still working on my knife skills.

In a large bowl, mix the main ingredients, and add in herbs, shallot, garlic, feta cheese, pepper, and salt (to taste). Drizzle in the extra virgin olive oil, along with champagne vinegar. Sprinkle with pumpkin seeds or crunch of choice. Enjoy!

Thanks for stopping by!
Cheers, @shalala

*All content created by me | : Photos taken Samsung Galaxy S8

Check out other recipes from the Cooking with Color Challenge Series:

Sort:  

Love the way you laid out your photos and recipe in this post! And sounds like a tasty salad that I would like to try! :)

Hi @natashahall! 🙏 Yea, it's tasty indeed! Strange how that peppery spice somehow eases the external heat. Anyway, thanks so much reading through, and appreciate your taking the time to comment.
I'll swing by your feed shortly. Great to virtually meet you! 🌻

Great to meet you too :)

nicely done... I love a radish with a bit of salt... scrumptious !

This salad look too yammie my mouth is full water after watching this

Thanks so much, @cityboy!

This is fantastic and I love its ingenuity.

Thank you, @machhour! 🙏

Delicious. I too love radish with salt on so this recipe takes it to a greater level. Thank you. :)X

🙏 Thank you, @allaboutpastries!

Thanks for stopping by @beohuntyima!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01