Improvised smoker with a cheap backyard grill.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Local grocery was having a quite good deal on ribs this week so I decided to grab a pack. We had loved the jerked ribs while we were on vacation and I thought I'd try my hand at a jerk rub (no pun intended, but my inner 13 year old just giggled). But to cook ribs proper one should always do it low and slow, and with lots of moist smoke. So I got creative with a bit of foil:

20170812_120332.jpg

  • I start by setting a nice sized pocket along one side of the charcoal bin. Over half I'd say, but enough of the bottom vent exposed to keep airflow. I filled this with my well soaked hickory chips.

  • I use natural lump charcoal, and I got about 2/3 full of my charcoal chimney going with it. I poured these in the remaining bin space and made sure to arrange them around well so they lined up against my foil divider.

  • The grill portion over the coals I covered with more foil (underneath) to make sure the heat from there was reduced, leaving the sides open for airflow.

  • I added a smidge more soaked wood here, on top of the foil barrier and around the edges just to get some burning smoke flavor as well.
    Then I placed the meat over the wood chips bone side down, covered, and let go.

  • I had to add more hot coals twice more, the final time removing the foil half way through and stirring the chips and charcoal together. On this final high heat I spread the meat out and flipped it rub side down to sear in a nice crispy "bark" on the meaty upper portion.

The results were a roaring success. Fat happy bellies all around.

Sort:  

I have nominated this post for the #minnowsfaucet VIP List,
vote for my post here @minnowsfaucet

I blew out my power, but I will be back. this looks so delicious and now I need to eat. but it will not be close to this yummy. You have dedication!

Nice post! Excellent use of foil to create a makeshift smoker. Followed you from over on #minnowsfaucet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70223.87
ETH 3561.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73