You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Frugal Friday

in #food5 years ago

My parents were young people just getting started out in life during the Great Depression, so I, too, grew up with frequent admonitions about not being wasteful. My dad used to eat peculiar combinations of food from fridge and cupboard, often just to use something up before it went bad, including things that probably ought to have made him sick, but I guess he had an iron stomach. I miss having chickens to toss the scraps to, and to clean up the odds and ends from the fridge from time to time. I haven't jumped on the stainless steel straw bandwagon yet, but I do wash and re-use my plastic straws several times. Lightly-used napkins or paper towels go into a box under the sink for wiping up spills on the floor. When I was much younger, and all the girls had to wear dresses to school, we would make our nylon pantihose last longer by cutting off one leg when it got too damaged, and wearing two half-pairs at the same time. I rarely wear pantihose anymore, so I don't worry about making them last forever. I suppose there are other frugal things I do without even thinking about them.

Sort:  

Ooh, so many good things in your reply to ponder! I too wash and reuse straws, and your comment about your dad eating odd food combos reminded me of the time we cleaned out my great grandma's canned goods and my Papa ate some bear mincemeat that was canned in 1979...It was like 2013 when this happened. LOL!

I've heard stories of how awesome and yet horrible pantyhose are. Kinda glad I grew up when they weren't fashionable. Mine would have had holes in them anyway.

You are a super frugalista for sure, I will note all your waste not want not excellence for future employment in Kat life.

I could write several paragraphs about my parents' thrifty practices in assorted areas of life. They saved every but of string that entered the house (People used it when mailing packages back then), used the same tinsel year after year on the Christmas tree, and we always carefully removed wrapping paper so it could be folded and used again for many years. It was sturdier back then. We re-used ribbon and bows year after year. (I still do.) Mama cut up blank-backed junk mail to use for scratch paper ( I still do that, too.) Other things will undoubtedly pop into my mind as time passes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64447.43
ETH 3163.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56