A simple masala dosa

in #food7 years ago

ds 019.jpg

The masala dosa is nothing but a simple dosa with masala as filling. Over the years, chefs have come up with various types of dosas and interesting combination of fillings.

ds 016.jpg

This is a dosa. A dosa is prepared from batter made from urad dal and raw rice. The rice and dal are soaked for about three to four hours and ground separately. Then it is mixed together and kept in utensils, to rise eventually. This is used to prepare iddli/rice cakes or dosas. Iddli is usually bland in taste but it is served with tasty chutneys like mango chutney, coconut chutney, tomato chutney or coriander chutney or sambar which is a staple of south India. If one smears the iddli with cooked coconut oil, it will taste superb, a tip got from my mom.

Iddli and dosa can also be served with a spice mix known mulaka podi/chilly powder mix.

Coming back to the masala dosa, prepare a masala which is usually a curry made with potatoes, onions and green chilies. The Indian Coffee House people add beetroot in every curry they make, so you find it even in their cutlet and masala dosa

After you make the dosa, add the masala as shown in the first picture and then fold it.

ds 033.jpg

You can serve it with chutneys, salad, tomato sauce, sambar or just any kind of dip you like.

ds 030.jpg

Sometimes, when I am too lazy to prepare masala, I just add tomatoes and onions.

Street videos are so interesting, watch this one if you like


source

Hope you enjoyed this post. Do write one about your favorite. Please leave the link in the comment box.

image source : sayee

Sort:  

yummmmy.....i love dosa ,,,me also expert in making dosa :P

thats good to know, dear

MMM, I love those! Doesn't even matter what's in them, you can always make them good.

thank you sir, you are right

I've never eaten a Dosa, however they look lovely. Almost like a savory pancake we have here.

You could create so many different tasting ones.

yes, of course

Looks like a very interesting food to eat. I can see myself trying it someday.

Please do and you will certainly like it

My mouth is watering! Looks so yummy and I am sure to like it all the ways you recommended. Thank you!

thanks dear and do try this

Looks like an interesting dish.I have never tried this before so I wonder how it tastes like... Is it similar to a pizza? How much time did it take you to make this ?

Thank you for contributing to the Steemit Community.Keep up the great work and I'm looking forward to your next posts.

it is, you can see the video I posted and it is a popular street food too. Try it some time if you find a stall near by

Sad to say I've never had dosa. It looks intriguing. I'll have to find someplace in Texas to get them. ha ha

38.gif

nice to see you here, of course you can have it, it must be available in an Indian restaurant near you or even as street food. You can also make batter from wheat flour and prepare it like a pancake, if u like

Masala dosa costs around ₹50 or ₹60 if you want to buy it from an average hotel in Tamilnadu..But we can make it in our homes without having to spend 10℅ of that!

yes, very true. Here, it is 75/- in the nearby hotel

I love dosa and masala! I got hungry while looking at this.

Haha, thanks. Hope you get to eat it soon

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59986.17
ETH 2417.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45